Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Slow progress – #amwriting

with 2 comments

Any writing progress is satisfying at the moment as work chops and changes and makes planning difficult. Writing on two fronts, as the mood takes me, I am focussing on the short stories I am writing to the prompts of a friend’s pictures and my has-been-going-on-forever novel.

The short story I wrote during a train journey in March, about a dancer turned boxer, has finally been re-read and lots of holes found. There is a story, but I have yet to work out how much background needs to be included and how much can be left to the reader’s imagination. There is a lot more work to be done, but the story has been looked at again so it is fresh and hopefully the hole-filling will be completed soon.

Chapters 1-3 of the novel have been re-read, scribbled over, the changes typed in, and the chapters read once again, slowly and aloud. I know I’ve said this before, but I think they are ready to go. Moving Chapter 4 to the position of Chapter 3 has made the start of the story less repetitive, given voice to a new character, and maybe even introduced a small hook. On my list of jobs to do, I have to compile a writing CV for one agent – it will be short – and then, after another read through, I think chapters 1-3 will be ready to send into the world again. So that’s next week’s job, assuming the work that currently pays my wages doesn’t want me to provide cover on the days I plan to write.

 

Priorities for the next fortnight: write a writing CV; submit novel to agents; continue reading novel from chapter 4 to make sure changes follow through and there are no typos!

Ongoing projects successfully met: chapters 1-3 of novel had been read, edited, and are ready to go; a short story has been edited and work to be done identified. (I need to count the small things!)

Ongoing projects partially met: I am crocheting a scarf and have completed five repetitions of an 8-row pattern – only 32-repetitions to go before the thing is finished.

Fails: I have done no Italian or piano practise.

Written by Sarah Ann

June 14, 2017 at 1:45 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s always useful to read how other authors multitask with their bill-paying jobs, life and writing.

    I too usually work on several writing projects daily – switching from one to another. My simple target – minimum 500 words a day 7 days a week. This includes first drafts as well as revisions.

    Wishing you all the best with your writing 🙂
    Eric

    Eric Alagan

    June 19, 2017 at 12:58 pm

    • Thank you Eric. You sound far more organised than me with your targets. I stick to vague lists, as I get uppity and grumpy when I miss targets. Work was cancelled this morning so I’ve edited a book chapter and written ¼ of a short story, making the most of the me-time I got back. Now I must stop to go to work this afternoon.

      Sarah Ann

      June 19, 2017 at 1:22 pm


Leave a Reply

