Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

OMG I almost won something – #amwriting

with 8 comments

 

I emailed some writer friends recently to ask:

why is it the things you spend months nurturing and send into the world with hope come back rejected, whereas the things you knock up quickly and send out just because you’ve finished make it? Serendipity? Sod’s law? They couldn’t answer.

I ask because a deadline I met in March just to prove I could has proved fruitful. A panel of judges read my story and placed me as runner-up in a short story competition, and you can read it here.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

May 31, 2017 at 11:08 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on your close call πŸ™‚ I have noticed the same thing and I wonder if we can work on stuff so much we polish the character and personality out of it. When we submit something semi-polished I think there’s uniqueness and nuances that can get attention. On the other hand when we spend countless hours trying to get something just right and it goes unnoticed, the rejection cuts deeper. I know, I’m over-thinking this… just keep doing what you do because it’s working πŸ™‚

    findingmedaily43

    May 31, 2017 at 2:47 pm

    • Thank you. ☺ I think you could be right about over polishing and I like the idea that the slightly rough works have attention grabbing nuances. Now all I have to do is learn to recognise those bits. πŸ˜‰

      Sarah Ann

      June 5, 2017 at 12:49 pm

      • If you learn to recognize it, you can write a book about it and be a best – seller πŸ™‚

        findingmedaily43

        June 7, 2017 at 3:11 am

      • No pressure then. πŸ™‚ If I ever do recognise that magic it, you’ll be the first to know!

        Sarah Ann

        June 7, 2017 at 1:17 pm

  2. Congrats. Being a runner-up or receiving an honorable mention is winning. Your work was rated much higher than a lot of other submission. Those poor writers got no recognition for their hard work.

    I’ve had the same experience. Stories I was really proud of and thought were excellent got nowhere, and the pieces I submitted on a whim won prizes. It just goes to show, you never can tell.

    rgayer55

    June 5, 2017 at 5:22 pm

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Although you’ve got me feeling bad about all the unrecognised authors now. I just wish it was easier to distinguish the stand-out elements, but then we wouldn’t write as much or have as much fun.

      Sarah Ann

      June 5, 2017 at 8:03 pm

  3. Congratulations, Sarah – well done, and happy for you.

    Experts say – write, then revise-revise-revise-revise… I suppose it all depends on how polished the first draft.

    All good wishes with your writing and continued success,
    Eric

    Eric Alagan

    June 6, 2017 at 12:41 am

    • Thank you. If only we knew when the first draft is good enough, and the revision is done.

      Sarah Ann

      June 6, 2017 at 8:27 pm


Leave a Reply

