Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 12/5/17 – A Moment in Time

with 13 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry.

At any point during the following week, the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word tales. Read the other stories by clicking below.

I really struggled coming up with something that wasn’t obvious/ boring this week, which is why I’m posting so late. I’m not sure this works. I tried to go funny using characters from a previous post, but misery took over my muse.

Thanks Rochelle for hosting and the prompt this week.

 

© Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

A Moment in Time

(Genre: general fiction; 100-words)

‘How is it my fault?’ I say looking at the hanging wing mirror.

‘If I hadn’t been picking you up, it wouldn’t have happened,’ Colin screams.

‘You won’t let me drive myself.’

‘I worry,’ he whines, ‘about you being out alone.’

Since turning seventy-five, Colin had become safety obsessed.

‘I’m hardly likely to be kidnapped by slavers.’

‘I want to do it,’ he says. ‘It gets me out the house.’

Colin’s becoming more reclusive, relying on my friends for company.

He won’t explain how the lamppost jumped across the pavement.

I think of his mother and fear for our future.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

May 14, 2017 at 7:24 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice little story. Understand the struggle, I , too, found it difficult this week and in the end with reality.

    jellico84

    May 14, 2017 at 11:31 pm

  2. It sounds like Colin is more the one who needs looking after. Nice piece.

    draliman

    May 15, 2017 at 8:49 am

    • Indeed, but he has to admit there’s something amiss first. And he’s a stubborn so-and-so.

      Sarah Ann

      May 15, 2017 at 10:13 am

  3. Sounds like a sad moment for Colin, the start of a decline 😦

    Iain Kelly

    May 15, 2017 at 9:16 am

    • Sad for his wife too. Colin is scared and unsure and not yet ready to ask for help.

      Sarah Ann

      May 15, 2017 at 10:12 am

  4. Dear Sarah Ann,

    It sounds as if Colin is losing touch with reality. Time to take away the car keys. Sad, poignant and a bit funny all at the same time. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    May 15, 2017 at 12:42 pm

    • Unfortunately, I think Colin is starting to lose touch. Glad I managed to squeeze some humour in.

      Sarah Ann

      May 15, 2017 at 8:38 pm

  5. This is so identifiable. Great read.

    yarnspinnerr

    May 15, 2017 at 1:45 pm

  6. I just saw an AARP ad for a free online seminar called, “We Need to Talk.” The seminar helps seniors determine how to assess their driving skills and how their loved ones can help.

    Poor Colin. I remember when the doctor told my parents they could no longer drive. It’s a tough blow and a huge loss of independence.

    Well written piece, Sarah Ann.

    rgayer55

    May 15, 2017 at 5:36 pm

    • Thanks for reading and the comment. The AARP seminar looks like something Colin would need.
      My dad couldn’t grasp his lack of driving abilities – it took an accident to stop him, thankfully no one else was involved and he wasn’t injured. My mum-in-law took the decision to stop herself, which was a relief to all. Now we’ve only got to worry about me on the road.

      Sarah Ann

      May 15, 2017 at 8:44 pm

  7. Yes it did turn sad… I feel sorry for both of them and it will not be easier… love what you could do with dialogue.


Leave a Reply

