Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#amwriting – Agents, here I come.

with 2 comments

My novel to pitch is now with eight agents. While I hoped this would take a day, it took two, as submissions were adjusted to meet agency specific requirements. Some require a query letter instead of a cover letter and synopsis. Most want the first three chapters as attachments, although one preferred the first chapter pasted into the body of an email. And there are agents who want submissions via hardcopy only, which I will approach once I have a new toner cartridge for my printer.

I realise submitting to agents should be an ongoing process until I find representation. However, it has been an energy-sapping couple of days and I am looking forward to writing again without strictures.

 

Priorities for the next fortnight: edit and write short stories based on friend’s picture prompts; prepare more agent submissions.

Ongoing projects successfully met: novel has been submitted; Friday Fictioneer stories have been posted regularly; piano practice has taken place; crochet projects have been completed.

Ongoing projects partially met: blog posts about writing and progress have been sporadic; blog reading is improving.

Ongoing project fails: learning Italian has taken a back seat.

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

April 22, 2017 at 11:35 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s exhausting submitting to literary agents but, having self-published two novels, I’ve decided that going down the indie publishing route is more exhausting. So with my third novel, it’s back to submitting once more. If only there was an industry standard for submissions, it would make life much easier. Good luck with your submissions 🙂

    Sarah Potter Writes

    April 24, 2017 at 12:10 pm

    • A set of standards would definitely help. I’ve a friend who’s submitted to 7 agents and had one comment very positively on the writing and another ask her for the full manuscript, so I’m going to hang of her shirt tails. I’ve had one vey quick reply to the effect of, ‘we’re not taking much at the moment and this isn’t for us.’ Still, there are many more fish in the sea when my energy returns.
      And well done you on self-publishing. I read about it, and think about it, and the decide to put if off a while longer.
      Thank you for reading and the good lcuk wishes – to you too.

      Sarah Ann

      April 24, 2017 at 7:26 pm


Leave a Reply

