Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 21/4/17 – Septuagenarian Adventure

with 24 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry.

At any point during the following week, the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word tales. Read the other stories by clicking below.

With thanks to Rochelle for hosting and Magaly Guerrero for this week’s prompt.

I can’t quite believe I’ve managed to post this on a Thursday, but life gave me an in this week – I will be following my protagonist’s example next Wednesday.

 

PHOTO PROMPT © Magaly Guerrero

© Magaly Guerrero

 

Septuagenarian Adventure

(Genre: humour; 100-words)

‘Frances, you’re 75.’

My husband is a master of truth.

‘And?’

‘It’s undignified.’

‘The woman who runs the sessions said there are lots of beginners like me.’

‘You’re not as fit as you were.’

‘That’s why I signed up.’

‘What about equipment?’

‘I only need shoes.’

‘You’re….’ he paused.

There are occasions when Colin trips over the truth.

‘There’s more of you than there was,’ he attempted diplomatically.

‘You mean is the floor reinforced?’

‘I didn’t say…’

‘I’m fat, Colin. I need to lose weight and enjoy it. That’s why I joined The Marvellous Tapping Heffalumps. Come jiggle with me?’

 

Written by Sarah Ann

April 20, 2017 at 3:23 pm

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hee, it could be a nice activity to do together 🙂 Good believable dialogue.

    draliman

    April 20, 2017 at 4:43 pm

    • Only if he doesn’t get too competitive methinks. Good to know the dialogue works – thanks.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2017 at 12:22 pm

  2. […] special thanks to Sarah Ann Hall for motivating me to write […]

  3. Dear Sarah Ann,

    Her jiggle made me giggle. It’s a good thing she didn’t ask him if her dress made her look fat. 😉 Love the dialogue. Good job!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    April 20, 2017 at 10:48 pm

    • Dear Rochelle,
      I think she learnt early not to ask for Colin’s sartorial advice, in order to maintain her self-esteem. Very glad you enjoyed it and the dialogue.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2017 at 12:28 pm

  4. Brilliant. I love it. ‘There’s more of you than there was’… thanks for the laugh. 🙂

    gahlearner

    April 20, 2017 at 11:28 pm

    • You’re welcome. Glad you enjoyed it. I started out with, ‘There’s more of you than there used to be,’ but had to cut it for the word count.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2017 at 12:23 pm

  5. Great fun. I agree with Rochelle this had great dialogue. Love the line ‘There’s more of you than there was’

    Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    April 21, 2017 at 10:42 pm

    • Thank you. I haven’t written a fun story or dialogue for a while, so I’m very happy to hear it worked.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2017 at 12:30 pm

  6. That is a brilliant take. Great read.

    yarnspinnerr

    April 22, 2017 at 4:08 pm

  7. Thank you for starting my day with a smile, Sarah Ann. And I’m impressed at how far up the list you are this week. 🙂

    Sandra

    April 23, 2017 at 9:09 am

    • Glad to oblige with the smile. I’m sure being this far up the list is a one-off 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      April 24, 2017 at 9:18 am

  8. A nice conversation. I do hope they enjoy themselves!

    yuhublogger

    April 23, 2017 at 7:15 pm

  9. age is just a number as they say. i suppose it’s never too late to jiggle. 🙂

    plaridel

    April 24, 2017 at 4:16 am

    • A number and a state of mind. No, I don’t think it’s ever too late to jiggle – where there’s a will, there’s a way. Thanks for reading.

      Sarah Ann

      April 24, 2017 at 9:19 am

  10. Good for her! And he should join her… might cheer his grumpiness up a bit 😉

    Laurie Bell

    April 24, 2017 at 10:38 am

  11. Good luck to her. I hope she enjoys her jiggling. And why shouldn’t she have some decent footwear, apart from stilettos which might be dangerous and leave the floor pockmarked?

    Sarah Potter Writes

    April 24, 2017 at 12:18 pm

  12. Great humor, Sarah Ann. “Is the floor reinforced?” HA!
    I’ve got that Santa Clause build myself. My belly is shaking like a bowl of jello from reading this piece.

    rgayer55

    April 24, 2017 at 2:31 pm

  13. The dialogue is great, Sarah Ann! This was so very funny and good for her on finding something fun to do… without his two cents’ worth…

    Dale

    April 24, 2017 at 4:13 pm

  14. […] which is why I’m posting so late. I’m not sure this works. I tried to go funny using characters from a previous post, but misery took over my […]


Leave a Reply

