Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 7/4/17 – Constant Companion

with 26 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry.

At any point during the following week, the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word tales. Read the other stories by clicking below.

As usual, I am not feeling confident about my efforts below, so criticise away. Thank you Rochelle for hosting, and Jellicoe’s Stationhouse for this week’s photo.

 

© Jellico’s Stationhouse

 

Constant Companion

(Genre: speculative fiction; 100-words)

During the day, they are attached to their hosts. It is only when dusk falls that they separate and live independently.

Only ever seen from the corner of an eye, they cause fear and trepidation.

During the night, they slip through cracks and keyholes. While people sleep, they flit about, observing. Their ethereal nature means they aren’t much use for anything. Their existence is futile, but necessary, and they never interfere.

With dawn, they rejoin their fellow, leaving only the lingering scent of exasperation. In sunlight, they disappear or stand proud, never able to explain.

Everyone has one. A shadow.

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a wonderful twist, there. Enjoyed that. Shadows moving, as if possessing an intelligence of their own, an existence of their own… gives many possibilities for more stories, I think. 🙂 ❤

    jellico84

    April 7, 2017 at 8:43 pm

    • Thank you. I hadn’t thought of the shadows having more stories to tell, but thanks for planting the idea. Happy you enjoyed it.

      Sarah Ann

      April 8, 2017 at 8:39 pm

  2. This is great, Sarah. I love your take. It feels like the Shadow here is a whole separate entity from their attached persons. You should be most proud of this.

    Amy Reese

    April 7, 2017 at 10:45 pm

    • Thank you Amy. You’re making me blush. I’m glad you enjoyed it, and the shadows as separate idea worked.

      Sarah Ann

      April 8, 2017 at 8:37 pm

  3. Creepy! I always wondered where my shadow went when the sun went down…

    draliman

    April 8, 2017 at 6:25 am

    • As long as they stay downstairs and don’t stare at you while you’re sleeping, they aren’t too bad. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      April 8, 2017 at 8:40 pm

  4. A shadow is occasionally a live thing ……. Ingenious take.

    yarnspinnerr

    April 8, 2017 at 7:36 am

    • Thank you. I think I’ve probably watched too many cartoons where the shadows go off and do things separate from their bodies.

      Sarah Ann

      April 8, 2017 at 8:53 pm

  5. Dear Sarah Ann,

    A very different perspective. I would never have ascribed exasperation to a shadow. Inventive story. I enjoyed it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    April 8, 2017 at 12:16 pm

    • Dear Rochelle,
      Now you got me thinking! I imagine shadows are usually benign and emotionally calm. Maybe this say more about me than my shadow 🙂 Thank you.

      Sarah Ann

      April 8, 2017 at 8:52 pm

  6. I agree with Rochelle this was very creative. Loved the use of exasperation to describe the shadows feelings.

    Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    April 8, 2017 at 4:58 pm

    • 🙂 Those poor shadows. It’s their inability to be free and explain that causes them so much stress.

      Sarah Ann

      April 8, 2017 at 8:47 pm

  7. this is the most unique take on the prompt this week. well done.

    plaridel

    April 8, 2017 at 10:15 pm

  8. Chilling shadows! Loved it:)

    LucciaGray

    April 8, 2017 at 10:55 pm

  9. Now we know where shadows go when we sleep. What an interesitng take on the prompt.

    gahlearner

    April 8, 2017 at 11:22 pm

    • Thank you. I started to write about bogeymen, but that wasn’t going to work. I’m beginning to feel sorry for the shadows.

      Sarah Ann

      April 10, 2017 at 11:47 am

  10. I so enjoyed where you took this. At first, I thought, Ick! because of this line ~ During the day, they are attached to their hosts. But in the end I thought Wow! Well done.

    Alicia Jamtaas

    April 9, 2017 at 8:15 pm

    • Thank you. Now you’ve got me thinking about where else I could take that line, and I’m feeling a little Ick myself. For peace of mind, and stomach, I favour symbiotic relationships over parasitical ones.

      Sarah Ann

      April 10, 2017 at 11:51 am

  11. It is an interesting take to think about where shadows go when the sun goes down. Great story!

    amiewrites74

    April 10, 2017 at 7:11 pm

  12. I cast a rather large shadow. It probably has a tough time squeezing through keyholes. When I pass gas, I always blame it on Shadow. I know that’s not very nice, but hey, that’s what shadows are for.

    rgayer55

    April 10, 2017 at 9:38 pm

  13. Excellent take on the prompt, Sarah Ann. Loved it.

    Sandra

    April 11, 2017 at 1:47 pm


Leave a Reply

