Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Priorities met, almost

with 6 comments

 

Of the three priorities I set myself in my last post, there are two successes and one fail:

I have married the first and second halves of my competition story and submitted it.

I am not sure of its worth, but I never am. I emailed it to two writer friends asking for their opinions, and I let it sit for a few days before I read it again. Unfortunately, neither of my friends was able to get back before the deadline, and I was still tweaking the fourth time I read it aloud just before hitting the send button. It’s not ready and won’t get anywhere, but it has shown me I can get things done with enough forward planning.

I have written more of my story based on a picture of men sitting on a bench.

I have changed the tense – past to present – to increase the energy in the story. I now need to add in more emotion and feeling, as well as doing some research on Ukrainian food, which features as a comfort for my protagonist. The story is currently 1000-words and might increase to 1500. At the moment it is possibly more a vignette than a story: it starts in the middle, goes back to the beginning, and the ends with the characters about to live a new life that the reader has to imagine. I’m not sure this is enough of an ending. I’ve left the story alone for a week so it’s time I looked at it again.

X

I haven’t blogged my progress until now. I had drafted a post to put up a week ago, but life intervened and this is my first free time in a while. I wonder if I should give myself deadlines for posting in order for me to keep them regular.

 

Priorities for the next fortnight: work on men-on-bench story and get it ready to show colleague on 25th Feb; get into a routine of blog reading and writing.

Ongoing projects successfully met: my crochet learning has been facilitated by some very long car drives and my understanding of patterns improved. I should be making things soon.

Fails: both piano practice and Italian study have been neglected; blog reading has not increased enough.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

February 15, 2017 at 9:12 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, life does get in the way but as writers we plod on…

    Eric Alagan

    February 16, 2017 at 2:03 am

  2. The tense change sounds like a good idea. It makes things more “immediate” for the reader and sounds like just the thing for the story you describe.

    draliman

    February 16, 2017 at 2:41 pm

    • Thanks for the comment. Yes, the present tense does make things more immediate. I’m not wholly comfortable using it, but this story definitely needed the kick it gives.

      Sarah Ann

      February 21, 2017 at 11:23 pm

  3. Past into present – sounds like it could be an interesting read.

    patrickprinsloo

    February 28, 2017 at 2:57 pm

    • If I ever get it to a 4th draft I might send it to you to comment on 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      February 28, 2017 at 8:56 pm


Leave a Reply

