Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

A mixed bag

with 5 comments

Writing progress has been made of sorts. After writing 1000 words of a new short story and feeling very pleased with myself, I roughed out a second half on paper and then typed it in. However, marrying the two together hasn’t happened yet, and I’m not sure about the ending. I keep reminding myself that the deadline is 13th February so I have plenty of time, but I know I don’t. If I want to get it finished and leave it a while before editing, then I need to get on with it.

On the plus side, I did start to write a story based on my friend Jan’s picture of two men on a bench. This has been on my list of jobs to do since the beginning of the year and was facilitated by a train journey to London. After a break of possibly two years, and at least 18-months, I had lunch on Tuesday with a couple of women I met on a writing course in the autumn of 2014. One of these now has an agent for the book she was writing at that time, but has since largely re-written, and we heard how friends and acquaintances helped in that process. The other has ditched the book she was writing when we met, the cathartic one she needed to write, and started afresh, and we were all excited by her new departure. Only I have not developed my book of the time, it having been re-drafted but still sitting waiting for the re-read that will determine if I continue to pursue its life or decide it was my cathartic book and needs to be laid to rest.

Lack of routine has always been an issue for me getting around to writing. I had pencilled in Thursday to be my writing day, as currently have no clients booked on Thursdays. However, my hours at work have increased and I worked 10am to 6.30pm on Wednesday, which meant I spent Thursday writing up reports. I am sure that when I get used to my new client list, I will find the pockets of time free to write, but even fashioning a daily haiku has been a struggle this week.

 

Priorities for the coming fortnight: knit the putative halves of my short story together; type in and finish my men-on-bench-picture-inspired story; blog my progress.

Ongoing life goals slowly being achieved: I have leant a bit more Italian and emailed an Italian colleague mostly in Italian; I have completed my first piece of crochet and gifted it to the aunt to whom I made the promise to learn.

Fails: there’s been no piano practice; I’m still putting off reading my novel, the excuse being I need to get these short stories written first; I haven’t upped my reading of other’s blogs.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

January 28, 2017 at 11:33 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good to read you …….. a long time. 🙂

    yarnspinnerr

    February 1, 2017 at 8:28 am

    • It has been a long time and I’m still getting back into the habit. I’m finding reading harder than ever, but I’ll be over to read you again soon.

      Sarah Ann

      February 2, 2017 at 8:56 pm

  2. i can relate. i always remind myself of goethe’s words, “whatever you can do or dream you can do, begin it. for courage has genius, power, and magic in it. only engage and the mind grows heated. begin it and the task is half-completed.” good luck.

    plaridel

    February 3, 2017 at 8:24 pm

    • Thank you for your encouraging comment and the quote. Those are words I can live by. I just need to plod on and get beyond halfway, because then I’ll be nearer the end 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      February 4, 2017 at 4:20 pm


Leave a Reply

