Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

New Year, New Me? Probably not.

with 4 comments

 

After a year of no writing or blogging, my head seems to have made room for both. I have changed jobs, from one where I looked at documents and computer screens all day long and all but gave up reading for pleasure, to one where I see families for short periods and writing is limited to an hour-long report per visit. This work is also part-time, giving me space to do some much needed decorating, practise piano, learn to crochet properly – something I promised my husband’s aunt I’d do 18-months ago – and get back to reading.

There is something else spurring me to write again. One of the women I met two years ago on a writing course has got herself an agent. True, her writing is very different from mine, more on-trend and much tighter, and she got an agent through someone who knows her husband, but I am an eternal optimist/ eternally deluded. If she can do it, so can I. And so, over the next weeks and months, I will be reading across my bookshelves to get my head back into the groove, and hope, in time, to get on with editing my own work. I re-commenced reading on New Year’s Eve with Barbara Kingsolver’s Prodigal Summer, a birthday present from a few years back, and was blown away by page two by her detailed and fluid descriptions. Her prose is nothing I can ever emulate and, if I weren’t so deluded, might have sent me straight back under my writing-free stone.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

January 2, 2017 at 8:06 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great to hear, Sarah!! I am about where you are – and need to stay motivated to my recommitment. Would you be interested in being an accountability partner for me? Let me know…I have to get out of my dead zone here.

    erinleary

    January 3, 2017 at 4:10 am

    • Hi Erin. It’s good to hear from you too.
      I had to look up what an accountability partner is, but I’m up for some mutual chivvying. Have you any specific goals to reach? Mine are all quite woolly, hence easy to miss.

      Sarah Ann

      January 3, 2017 at 8:51 pm

      • Yes – my goals are to finish some revisions in order query a finished novel again – this seems simple, but I’m having some real mental blocks with it. I have another rough draft of a novel I’d like to revisit and see if it is any good. Basically, my goal is to do something with what I’ve got and write new stuff – but am lacking the vision on where to go. So…having someone I have to be accountable to would be helpful!

        erinleary

        January 5, 2017 at 8:53 pm

      • Having had a think, albeit a slow one for which I apologise, and having finally managed to write something new this week, I think we each need to list what it is we want to achieve. This can be the categorised in terms of large tasks, e.g. reworking a novel, or small, e.g. writing a short story. After that we need to prioritise and identify which tasks are most important to us at this moment. Priorities may well change as time passes and/ or we actually meet some goals. Timescales and deadlines will feature, but they can wait for now. Let’s give ourselves a week to draw up a list of prioritised tasks. If we exchange via email first, we can then decide whether or not to share our accountability with the world. 🙂

        Sarah Ann

        January 13, 2017 at 7:35 pm


Leave a Reply

