Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

AWOL

with 7 comments

 

I can’t quite believe I haven’t blogged anything since February. I can’t remember what caused me to miss writing one Friday Fictioneer story, and what happened the following week, which meant I missed two.

Before Easter I was writing, reading through my WIP, making changes suggested by fellow writers who’d read chapter one, trying to develop it into more of a story than a series of scenes. I had finished by the end of March and planned to leave it a month before I went back to it to get the first 3000-words agent-ready. Six months later I still have to return to those 85000-words to perfect the first 3000.

I’m not the only one who seems to have stopped writing. The two writers I met this time last year at a ‘how to hook an agent’ event have similarly been beset by life events that have redirected the focus of their activities. We have met a few times since last September and shared our re-writing and search for agent experiences. This summer, though, seems to have over-taken all of us in different ways.

Mid-summer saw me organising a big family party, and then, when life was just about to return to normal, hubby was knocked of his motorbike. It was a slow speed impact and he was very lucky to only break his ankle, but this meant he wasn’t able to drive for nearly three months. Yours truly, with nothing scheduled work-wise, became chauffeuse for the summer, sitting in the car while hour-long meetings over-ran to three. This lack of brain-activity prompted me to start looking for a job and I will be working full-time for the next six months, commuting to and fro by train. I have planned to use this time to read, maybe I’ll even get to write a little. Perhaps my Friday Fictioneer stories will compose themselves as I walk to the station or stare out of a rain-streaked window. Whatever happens, I’m hoping a strict routine might bring me back to writing.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

September 25, 2015 at 11:59 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome back.

    tnkerr

    September 25, 2015 at 12:42 pm

  2. Its important to keep blogging from time to time.If you keep thinking you will do it tomorrow then you will fall behind!

    iamehsan69

    September 25, 2015 at 1:04 pm

  3. Welcome back for now Sarah, I too have been absent for quite some months and only just returned, albeit in drips amd drabs.sorry about hubby’s accident. I hope he has recovered. As you say..who knows where your inspiration for writing will come from. Take care ☺️

    ramblingsfromamum

    September 26, 2015 at 11:09 am

    • Hi J. I really should to be here more often to reply in a timely fashion, but late trains are the bane of my life and I’ve only been back commuting 3 days 😦
      I hope all is good with you, K and Mr S. Will get around to emailing sometime – soon hopefully. S x

      Sarah Ann

      September 30, 2015 at 10:04 pm

      • Here I was thinking that Britain/Europe has the best transports systems ” in the world ” (said in Jeremy’s voice) better tan ours at least. A lot has been happening..but there is light at the end of the tunnel. Hope you are all well too. xx

        ramblingsfromamum

        September 30, 2015 at 11:05 pm


Leave a Reply

