Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 10/10/14 – Recovery

with 16 comments

 

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry.

At any point during the following week, the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word tales. Read the other stories by clicking below.

 

This week I’ve been busy scrubbing and painting (see below), and summoning my muse has been thwarted by physical exhaustion. When I saw Tears for Fears in Rochelle’s photo, I decided to do something with their lyrics. (I’m sure someone else will have done this too.) Once I’d started, it was difficult to stop, so here are two efforts using the constraint of others’ words.

 

Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

Recovery

(Genre: Misery100-words)

What has happened to the friend that I once knew? Where does the end of me become the start of you? We walk and talk in time.

When all you do is see me through, I did not have the nerve. I asked for more and more. I wanted to be with you alone, with the ups and downs; all for freedom and for pleasure.

I hope we live to tell the tale. It’s hard to be a man when there’s a gun in your hand.

These are things I can do without. Kiss them goodbye. No more sleepy dreaming.

 

 

Six Months In

(Genre: general fiction, 99-words)

‘I find it kind of sad. It’s all too late.’

‘I feel somebody somewhere is trying to breathe.’

‘I find it hard to tell you. Oh I feel so…’

‘Come on. Let it all out.’

‘The dreams in which I’m dying are the best I’ve ever had.’

‘I feel deep in your heart there are wounds time can’t heal.’

‘All I want to be is completely in command. Well you know what I mean.’

‘For all you say, you keep me waiting.’

‘I can’t stand this indecision.’

‘You can change.’

‘How can I be sure?’

‘Nothing ever lasts forever.’

 

Friday Fictioneers

 

Tears for Fears songs I used a line or more from: Woman in Chains, Pale Shelter, Everybody Wants to Rule the World, Break it Down Again, Change, Shout, Head Over Heels, Mad World.

Written by Sarah Ann

October 11, 2014 at 1:15 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Sarah Ann,

    I’ve certainly received my Tears for Fears education this week. I never heard of them until now. I’ll admit that I don’t know where borrowed song lyrics end and your writing begins. It does all go together well. I liked both stories.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    October 11, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    • Thank you Rochelle. I think I dropped an ‘And’ and a ‘When’ from the beginning of two lines, but otherwise these are all lyrics. I thought it would be easier than trying to come up with something myself this week. I decided later, after trying to make something coherent out of other people’s words, it wasn’t.

      Sarah Ann

      October 13, 2014 at 5:46 pm

  2. Oh yes, I recognize these lyrics. I know I’ve sung them before. I’m going to have a Tears for Fears fest now. Great stories, Sarah. I enjoyed them both. I’ve always loved that Pale Shelter song, too. I can hear it my head. 🙂

    Amy Reese

    October 11, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    • I’ve got ‘Sowing the Seeds of Love,’ stuck in my head. It was fun to go on youtube and remind myself of what these sounded like. Glad you enjoyed. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      October 13, 2014 at 5:47 pm

  3. This week Tears for Fears is everywhere! They’ll probably get a sudden spurt of record sales out of this week’s FF 🙂 Clever idea to merge lyrics into your story.

    draliman

    October 12, 2014 at 5:25 am

    • And they took up such a small portion of Rochelle’s photo! Hopefully they’ll get a sales’ boost 🙂 It was both fun and frustrating limiting myself to using only lyrics – it took a lot of re-rordering of lines to get the second one to make sense and not sound too worthy.

      Sarah Ann

      October 13, 2014 at 5:49 pm

  4. Ah, brings back memories… I remember Tears For Fears 🙂 I like both responses, but am more drawn to the back and forth, conversational feel of the second one,

    jannatwrites

    October 13, 2014 at 12:01 am

    • Thanks Janna. The second one is the one I started with – it started as a first session of a counselling relationship. Then I ditched some lines and added others, and it became another sort of relationship altogether, or could be indicative of more than one. I don’t think I’ll try this again for a while – not unless I have unlimited time anyway.

      Sarah Ann

      October 13, 2014 at 5:52 pm

  5. It’s been fan fiction week this time. Nicely done.

    subroto

    October 13, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    • Thank you. Considering it was such a small part of Rochelle’s photo, a lot of us honed in on the Tears for Fears sheet music.

      Sarah Ann

      October 14, 2014 at 7:09 pm

  6. Dear Sarah Ann, Good stories – both of them. I saw the “Tears for Fears” but I’m much older than you so I don’t remember them. You did a wonderful job! Nan 🙂

    Nan Falkner

    October 13, 2014 at 10:58 pm

  7. I loved both the stories! Particularly liked: “These are things I can do without. Kiss them goodbye. No more sleepy dreaming.”

    theinnerzone

    October 13, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    • Thank you. I can’t take credit for the words, only the ordering. The first two lines were from Shout, the third one from Break It Down Again.

      Sarah Ann

      October 14, 2014 at 7:13 pm

  8. I’m not that familiar with Tears for Fears either, but I recognize good lyrics when I read them. Nice post.

    rgayer55

    October 14, 2014 at 11:53 am

    • Thanks Russell. Roland Orzabal has to take credit for the good lyrics.

      Sarah Ann

      October 14, 2014 at 7:15 pm


Leave a Reply

