Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 3/10/14 – Silver Spoon

with 35 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry.

At any point during the following week, the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word tales. Read the other stories by clicking below.


Oh dear, I missed two weeks. My muse has taken an unforeseen and unsanctioned leave of absence. I don’t think she’s finished her holiday yet, but at least she popped home long enough for me to come up with the below.

Thanks to Rochelle for hosting and Kent for the photo of ‘unidentifiable on a stick.’

 

Copyright - Kent Bonham

Copyright – Kent Bonham

 

 

Silver Spoon

(Genre: Historical fiction; 100-words)

 

‘It isn’t working. No matter how much I pour into her, she stays sick.’

‘A few more days.’

‘It’s been a fortnight.’

‘How do you administer it – pap-boat, spoon?’

‘Spoon.’

‘Silver?

Margaret stared. How should she afford silver?

‘It stays clean,’ the doctor said by way of explanation.

‘I scrub, I clean,’ she choked.

‘I’m sorry. I didn’t mean. Here,’ he fidgeted in a pocket. ‘I’ll loan you one.’

A week later Margaret’s child was alive. After a month, Alice was thriving and the spoon returned. Whether time, medicine, silver’s antiseptic properties, or a mother’s love cured her, remained moot.

 

 

Friday Fictioneers

 

35 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Sarah,

    Now that’s a different and refreshing take on the prompt. I wonder if the doctor didn’t loan her the silver spoon to give them new hope. Suggestion is powerful. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    October 4, 2014 at 11:46 am

    • Hi Rochelle,
      You might be right about it all being suggestion – the placebo effect has been shown to be mighty powerful.

      Sarah Ann

      October 6, 2014 at 7:53 pm

  2. A touching take on the prompt.

    wildbilbo

    October 4, 2014 at 12:04 pm

  3. Lovely, a happy ending! I’m glad your muse popped back for this week’s prompt 🙂

    draliman

    October 5, 2014 at 6:42 am

    • Thanks. Sometimes we all need a happy ending. I hope the muse hangs around a little longer…

      Sarah Ann

      October 6, 2014 at 7:55 pm

  4. Dear Sarah,

    A wise doctor, when all hope is lost, to use a silver spoon as a catalyst. Mother and patient infused with an energy we are only beginning to understand, that of the mind….

    I enjoyed this story of love and the mystery of the mind. Well crafted….and….welcome back. I’ve been looking for you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Douglas MacIlroy

    October 5, 2014 at 9:55 am

    • Thank you Doug – for looking for me and for the encouraging comment. This wasn’t a story about the power of the mind when I started, more one of a mother’s desperation and a doctor’s need to try anything. That’s why your comments are always useful – they alway show me something I hadn’t noticed.

      Sarah Ann

      October 6, 2014 at 8:08 pm

  5. Now this was certainly a happy ending! The spoon signifies so much in this story- kindness, compassion, and most of all: hope.

    jannatwrites

    October 5, 2014 at 10:15 am

    • I’m glad you saw the spoon as hope. As I wrote, the doctor loaned the spoon as a last resort, but this one was going to have a happy ending.

      Sarah Ann

      October 6, 2014 at 8:11 pm

  6. Great, creative take Sarah. I’ve missed you. I say your muse is back! Is it all in the mind, I wonder. I think nothing is more powerful than the mind when you are sick. If the mind and spirit is weak, the chances for healing can be lost. Enjoyed your story. Well told and written.

    Amy Reese

    October 5, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    • Thanks Amy. I’ve missed reading too. (Time has a way of leaving me behind drowning.) A strong mind and spirit can conquer many things and are so important in healing. Now if only my mind was in control of my muse….

      Sarah Ann

      October 6, 2014 at 8:35 pm

  7. Ah.. yes you have been missed.. this take is quite unique.. I had not thought about the antiseptic properties of silver .. it brings a whole new meaning to being born with a silver spoon in the mouth…

    Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    October 6, 2014 at 10:14 am

    • Thanks Bjorn. I didn’t know what to do with the prompt – my husband saw it as a spoon. And I agree about silver spoons – the obvious/ usual corollary is wealth, but with money comes access to medicine as well as utensils that are less likely to carry infection.

      Sarah Ann

      October 6, 2014 at 9:16 pm

  8. Lovely mysterious story. My money’s on the silver, but I’ve always had an eye for the sparkly stuff… 🙂

    Sandra

    October 6, 2014 at 5:01 pm

    • I like to see you’ve got your priorities right. 🙂 I fear maybe another mother might have pocketed the spoon and left the daughter.

      Sarah Ann

      October 6, 2014 at 8:32 pm

  9. Could you persuade your muse to wander over here? You’ve touched on the mystery of the source of all healing. Ann

    AnnIsikArts

    October 6, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    • She might be headed your way! She’s a stubborn thing with a mind of her own and only performs when she wants to. The more I plead, the more she turns her back and sniggers. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      October 6, 2014 at 8:25 pm

      • I think I’ve changed my mind. I’ve switched the door bell off! 🙂

        AnnIsikArts

        October 6, 2014 at 9:00 pm

  10. When I was little, my mother insisted Cod-Liver Oil was the cure for everything. It must have been for after only one dose I was never sick again (that she knew of). I would have chosen death over having that stuff shoveled down my throat again.
    I enjoyed your story, Sarah Ann. Desperate Moms will try anything to cure their young. I’m glad this one worked out.

    rgayer55

    October 6, 2014 at 10:17 pm

    • Thankfully cod liver oil comes in plastic capsules these days. Being made to drink it could be considered a form of abuse, but you have to admit it did do you the world of good 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      October 7, 2014 at 4:40 pm

  11. Dear Sarah, I think, years ago, crossing the country in wagon trains, they would put a silver spoon in the bottom of each water barrel. It helped keep the water from spoiling – so maybe this is the reasoning. I don’t know but this is a great story! Nan 🙂

    Nan Falkner

    October 7, 2014 at 2:18 am

    • Hi Nan. I hadn’t heard of silver keeping water clean, but it might work – that’s one for further research. Glad you enjoyed the story and for the new thoughts.

      Sarah Ann

      October 7, 2014 at 4:42 pm

  12. a happy ending for a change. well done.

    plaridel

    October 7, 2014 at 3:59 am

  13. Love the history in this. The power of suggestion, the superstition, the joy of survival in times when that was not the norm. Lovely.

    aliciajamtaas

    October 7, 2014 at 4:50 am

    • Good to hear the historical elements came across. And I like your idea about the joy of survival. Of course, the child is also another mouth to feed, so her improved health could have a downside.

      Sarah Ann

      October 7, 2014 at 4:43 pm

  14. a very nice ending 🙂 lovely to see you again!

    K.Z.

    October 7, 2014 at 4:01 pm

  15. Lovely story. Possibly re-enacted many times.
    (How about “remains” instead of “remained”?)

    patrickprinsloo

    October 7, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    • Thanks, Patrick. I went with remains, but when I read it to hubby he went for remained. Remains, I feel, leaves in a bit of mystery whereas remained is maybe too tidy?

      Sarah Ann

      October 7, 2014 at 4:36 pm

  16. Very different take on the prompt. Beautiful!

    Shailaja/ The Moving Quill

    October 7, 2014 at 7:29 pm

  17. A beautiful little story with a happy ending. I loved it.
    Anne

    ahtdoucette

    October 7, 2014 at 9:05 pm

  18. I like how the emotional core of your story is wordless – “Margaret stared” – with no words able to convey the abject hopelessness of a mother who knows she’s not able to provide what her child needs to survive. Sometimes a word limit definitely benefits a story, I think 🙂

    Blake

    October 7, 2014 at 9:09 pm

  19. Sarah Ann, I love your interpretation and your happy ending. I remember looking up the saying ‘Born with a silver spoon in her mouth’ and finding this meaning, but your story is so much better. LHN


Leave a Reply

