Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 29/8/14 – Fussy Eater

with 40 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry.

At any point during the following week, the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word tales. Read the other stories by clicking below.

 

 

Copyright - Madison Woods

Copyright – Madison Woods

 

 

Fussy Eater

(Genre: Humour; 99-words)

 

Breakfast

‘Eat it.’

‘No.’

‘Eat it!’

The clamp of lip tightens.

‘You won’t grow hairs on your chest.’

 

Lunch

‘Eat it.’

‘It’s cold.’

‘I’ll microwave it.’

‘I don’t want hairs on my chest.’

 

Dinner

‘Again?’

‘You’ll get it until you eat it.’

‘Even when it’s blue and hairy?’

‘Don’t be smart.’

 

Supper

‘This is child abuse!’

‘How can feeding you be abuse?’

‘I don’t like it.’

‘You used to love it.’

‘I had a traumatic experience.’

‘That put you off porridge?’

‘Yes. I only want toast for breakfast from now on.’

 

Breakfast

‘Toast!’

‘It’s burnt.’

‘Goldilocks, don’t push it.’

 

Friday Fictioneers

 

Written by Sarah Ann

August 28, 2014 at 9:16 pm

40 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is great! I can relate to all the meals and the dialogues served with them.

    theinnerzone

    August 28, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    • Thank you. Having been a child who ate almost anything put in front of her, I had to tap the seam of fussy friends to come up with the dialogue. Although the hairy chest line is one of my dad’s.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 8:49 pm

  2. Brilliant 🙂

    FabricatingFiction

    August 28, 2014 at 9:43 pm

  3. Love the closing and remembering the fussiness of eating 🙂

    ramblingsfromamum

    August 29, 2014 at 7:35 am

    • I suppose remembering the fussy eaters reminds you what they looked like when they were small. I hope this didn’t bring up memories of frustration and worry too about getting them to eat.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 8:55 pm

      • No darling mine believe it or not were pretty good in that department! 🙂

        ramblingsfromamum

        September 1, 2014 at 10:45 pm

  4. Aw, never happy! To be fair, I wouldn’t eat it either.
    Your “hairs on the chest” thing reminds me of another saying – “eat your crusts or you won’t get curly hair”. I didn’t want curly hair.

    draliman

    August 29, 2014 at 7:57 am

    • Yep, we had crusts and curly hair, but I don’t remember not eating the crusts – and they are (as in the end pieces) the best bit of a loaf toasted.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 8:56 pm

  5. Excellent! 🙂

  6. Goldilocks and I had the same mother, obviously.
    eat – children are starving all over the world.
    eat – don’t you want to grow up to be strong.
    eat- it’s a sin to waste food
    eat – I slaved all day to make you this mush.
    eat – or the bears will eat you , you anemic ungrateful little…..

    The Writer's Village

    August 29, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    • I love the last one. LOL. We had the starving children argument, and children still starve. It’s a great pity that things haven’t changed in all the time I’ve been around.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 8:58 pm

  7. Sooo funny! 🙂

    Sandra

    August 29, 2014 at 3:26 pm

  8. Ah! Fusspot eaters, will eat everything outside but not at home. The was a pleasant surprise at the end.

    subroto

    August 29, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    • Thank you. A friend’s little girl wouldn’t eat bread – pitta, croissant, English muffins, baguette – nothing. At child care, every lunchtime she ate a standard sliced bread sandwich (cut into quarters of course) without a murmur. Kids, honestly.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 9:00 pm

  9. Poor Goldilocks! If it’s not the bears, it’s the food at home. No wonder she got lost in the forest! Cute! Nan 🙂

    Nan Falkner

    August 30, 2014 at 6:34 am

    • She’s a little bit of a madam I think. Mum was only trying to do her best, and always provided porridge of the perfect temperature. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 9:03 pm

  10. Kool take. 🙂

    yarnspinnerr

    August 30, 2014 at 7:55 am

  11. Ha.. Love it, I can sympathize with Goldilocks if that’s how porridge looks.

    Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    August 30, 2014 at 1:39 pm

    • We do eat with our eyes first. I could never understand Goldilocks as a child – I hated porridge – eat it every morning now.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 9:02 pm

  12. I say send it to China! 🙂

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    August 31, 2014 at 12:30 am

  13. This is great, Sarah. Love it! 🙂 Goldilocks would be a tough to feed, always wanting it to be just right.

    Amy Reese

    August 31, 2014 at 1:16 am

    • She’d be a nightmare – and probably malnourished if she was mine. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 9:02 pm

  14. This made me laugh. I have no idea what that picture is of – but I’d pass on eating it as well 🙂

    jannatwrites

    August 31, 2014 at 4:55 am

    • Yes, if I was presented with this I think I’d pass. Like I can’t quite get round to the thought of insects being the problem to feeding the world its protein needs. A crunch then a squelch. Hmm, no thanks.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 9:05 pm

  15. Dear Sarah Ann,

    One word for your story: Delightful.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    August 31, 2014 at 12:53 pm

    • And four in reply: thank you very much. (Hope you had a good time away.)

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 9:06 pm

  16. Truly fun! Thanks for the smile. “mom” has a hard road ahead.

    aliciajamtaas

    September 1, 2014 at 3:52 am

  17. Sarah Ann, Hilarious and creative.. XD The ending made it all clear. Even without that ending though it was true to life. When we were children, a friend’s father tried for about half an hour to get her to eat one green bean. He failed. They were both stubborn. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    patriciaruthsusausan

    September 1, 2014 at 4:06 am

    • Does she eat green beans now? I used to have a friend who came for tea each week and would hide what she didn’t eat under her knife and fork. She still doesn’t eat a lot, but has become far more adventurous in her tastes.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 9:09 pm

  18. That brought out a chuckle in me. Wonderful ending, Sarah Ann.

    rgayer55

    September 1, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    • Thank you Russell. I’m not sure where Goldilocks popped up from. She wasn’t in the first five versions of this, but she did give it the best ending.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2014 at 9:07 pm

  19. …and Goldilocks will never, ever, forget her porridge day adventure. love your charming story right to the end when we find out who the fussy eater really is. well told! 🙂

    Sun

    September 2, 2014 at 12:49 am

    • When I first started this, I have no idea who my fussy eater was – or what the title was going to be. I started with porridge and thinking how I hated it as a child and my brother always ate it. It sometimes amazes me where my initial ideas end up!

      Sarah Ann

      September 3, 2014 at 7:15 pm

  20. Witty and unexpected. I enjoyed your story a lot 🙂

    Blake

    September 2, 2014 at 7:49 pm


Leave a Reply

