Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Ligo Haibun – photo prompt – The Fair

with 6 comments

This week’s Ligo Haibun Challenge gave us two photos to choose from, and I picked this one:

 

Untitled

 

The signs went up weeks before it arrived. As soon as they appeared, my brother and I started pestering.

‘Pleeeeease Daa-aad.’

‘No,’ Dad said. ‘It’s a con. Too expensive. I don’t like them.’

I can’t remember all the reasons he didn’t want us go – he didn’t quite say it was a den of inequity – but it was plain how he felt. My brother and I whinged and Dad gave eventually gave in.

When we were young he stayed with us, bought my brother candyfloss – I never liked it – and both of us hot dogs. He won us goldfish, which we lavished with love and care, and were dead within two weeks thanks to over-feeding.

When we grew older Dad dropped us off with our best friend of the moment, and the sexes parted until home-time. My girlfriend stalked around trying to catch the eye of the ride owners, brash and coy. I stood way off, paid my money, didn’t make eye contact.

Today I am probably as miserly about fairs as my dad was. Who wants to traipse around a grass-flattened field with flashing lights, clashing loud music, and hawkers fleecing you with games of chance you never win. Maybe we just have the wrong sort of fairs come to town.

 

 

nagging children who

fight parental dislike

inherit same view

 

 

Ligo Hai badge

Written by Sarah Ann

June 21, 2014 at 11:05 am

Posted in Haibun

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Perhaps as we get older the novelty wears off, but the delight of a lit carousel at night, brings me joy still. x

    ramblingsfromamum

    June 21, 2014 at 11:48 am

    • I think we just have the wrong sort of fairs – nothing as pretty as the carousel in the photo. Sorry I’ve been very lax in reading you. Trying to catch up. Hope life has improved. Will email, but I won’t say soon. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      June 22, 2014 at 7:50 pm

  2. That’s a very clever haiku at the end. It’s strange how fairs seem so wonderful when we are children and downright shoddy when we get older.

    Suzanne

    June 22, 2014 at 8:34 am

    • I think part of the appeal when we were hoping was forcing Dad to do something he didn’t want to, as well as a lot of pressure. Fairs were exotic then, they aren’t so alluring with adult eyes.

      Sarah Ann

      June 22, 2014 at 8:22 pm

      • Yes they can look so tacky as an adult.

        Suzanne

        June 22, 2014 at 10:58 pm

  3. I am not even fond of local fairs that take up several blocks of the town once a year, or the circus, either. But for me it was the other way around – it was an escape for the adults. But I guess those particular businesses are doing well enough as they are still around.

    The views of shows are never as good as programs or ads promoting them. And like concerts for me the noise level is beyond reasonable. Maybe it’s just that I’m getting older too? Nice life observation.

    Thanks for your visit.

    julespaige

    June 24, 2014 at 3:41 pm


Leave a Reply

