Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Ligo Haibun Challenge – I Confess

with 10 comments

This week’s Ligo Haibun Challenge asked writers to choose between the words:

 

Confession and Connected

_____

 

I Confess

Confession. The word blinks at the edge of my vision and taunts me. I have done nothing wrong. I have nothing to confess. I walk away, carry on with my day. I try not to think about it, but when I stop, when the jobs are done and I have spare time, the needle returns – poking, pricking to provoke a reaction.

‘I have nothing to confess. I did nothing wrong.’

And it’s true, because I am an awful liar. I will tell you if you bum looks big in that dress. You can think it makes me a nasty person, but surely it’s better to know that you look like the back end of a bus before going on that crucial date. I won’t tell you you’ve baked the lightest sponge unless you have. What’s the point in telling you it’s perfect if you need more practice at folding flour?

I confess that I sometimes wash my dirty linen in public – better there than festering in some hole. Secrets breed lies breed stress breed mental illness. And when lies are found out there is only pain, anger and damaged relationships.

 

embracing truth

might cause short-term upset

no permanent damage

Ligo Hai badge

Written by Sarah Ann

May 24, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Posted in Haibun

Tagged with , , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A very special post. I appreciate this perspective of truth.

    yarnspinnerr

    May 24, 2014 at 5:07 pm

    • Thank you, Aesop. It’s good to know this perspective is appreciated by others.

      Sarah Ann

      May 25, 2014 at 7:53 pm

  2. Truth is SO important. I know who not to ask regarding my bum!

    Belinda Broughton

    May 24, 2014 at 9:56 pm

    • 🙂 Well, as we’ve only just met, I would be gentle about it. Thanks for the read.

      Sarah Ann

      May 25, 2014 at 7:54 pm

  3. Truth is important – and it’s a travelling companion.

    Eric Alagan

    May 26, 2014 at 3:21 am

    • I think maybe we could all do with more honesty and less prevarication.
      Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Sarah Ann

      May 26, 2014 at 11:18 am

  4. Reblogged this on Fresh From a Hermit's Forest .

    Gunn's Cabin Fever

    May 26, 2014 at 8:11 am

  5. The rhythm in this piece is superb. The start magnetic, and the style so readable. The way it unfolds, little by little is like linen being unfolded, and the paragraph in the middle about straight-talking made me chuckle aloud. Enjoyed very, very much.

    Gunn's Cabin Fever

    May 26, 2014 at 8:16 am

    • Thank you! I wish I could read with your eyes. Your comments always force me to re-read, to try to see what you can see. In the meantime, I’ll just bask in the glory of making you chuckle 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      May 26, 2014 at 11:21 am

  6. “And when lies are found out there is only pain, anger and damaged relationships.” You said it Sarah!Loved this line,truly-if only people understood!A wonderfully written piece with bits of humour woven in:-)

    atrm61

    May 26, 2014 at 11:17 am


Leave a Reply

