Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 18/4/14 – The Send Off

with 32 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry.

At any point in time during the following week, the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word tales. Read the other stories by clicking below.


–––––

I didn’t think I’d make it this week, and am taking the opportunity of a very wet journey down the M4 to post this. Thanks to Doug MacIlroy for this week’s photo.

 

Copyright - Douglas M. MacIlroy

Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

 

The Send Off (100 words)

‘What shall we do with the drunken sailor?’

‘Dunk him,’ the crew roared answer to the captain.

Seamus, collapsed on the deck, waved his arms ineffectually as he was strapped into the bosun’s chair. Over he went, to come up mumbling.

‘Stick him in the helmet!’

The bestman and ushers wiggled an excited jig as the captain’s lucky charm was secured over Seamus’s lolling head.

After a third dipping Seamus was brought aboard, to be remonstrated with for his lack of fuss and flailing. When the diver’s helmet was removed, seawater was not the only fluid to flood the deck.

 

32 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice! I like that it’s left to the readers imagination. Unfortunately my imagination is a bit too vivid 🙂

    subroto

    April 20, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    • Vivid imaginations are good, but I hope yours didn’t take you to somewhere too unpleasant. 😉

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 7:54 pm

  2. Now this could end in a number of ways. Well done for keeping us guessing.

    Sandra

    April 20, 2014 at 3:33 pm

    • And what were you guessing? When I wrote, I was thinking Seamus drowned and the fluid was his friends’ tears. Hubby, and most other readers, seem to have gone with vomit. Methinks I need to try harder.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 7:53 pm

  3. Yuk! I nipped back to the FF page and hit yours simply because it was the 100th. A nasty little tale well told.

    Liz Young

    April 20, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    • Well, thank you for nipping back and giving me a read. There’s something satisfying about being the 100th.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 7:55 pm

  4. Oh no, poor Seamus! and poor me – I now have the Drunken Sailor song stuck in my head!

    elappleby

    April 20, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    • Apologies for the song. It is one of those that worms its way in, and stays! Hope you managed to dislodge it.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 8:05 pm

  5. Nice one…

    tedstrutz

    April 20, 2014 at 9:40 pm

  6. Hmmm. So many possibilities here, Nice ending.

    Shirley McCann

    April 20, 2014 at 11:46 pm

    • Thanks. I usually worry when I read out one of my stories and the listener imagines a different ending to the one I’d planned. But with this one, most people want to end it more postiively than I did, so I’m not complaining.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 8:15 pm

  7. I am glad I hadn’t eaten before reading 🙂

    ramblingsfromamum

    April 21, 2014 at 9:08 am

    • 🙂 I suppose it depends on which fluids you’re imagining.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 7:52 pm

  8. Dear Sarah Ann,

    We seem to be Wednesday thru Tuesday Fictioneers these days, don’t we?

    Your story left me wondering. Feeling a little queasy now. 😉 Good one.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    April 21, 2014 at 9:54 am

    • Sorry for making you feel queasy. I’m probably replying to this as you post next week’s challenge. Maybe closing the linky early would focus a few minds (well, mine anyway).

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 9:01 pm

  9. Yuck!An upchucking ,dunked drunk-eww! Great job with painting it too vividly Sarah-I think I will go out and get some fresh air-feeling Seamussy 😛

    atrm61

    April 21, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    • When I read this to my other half he went straight for vomit. I was of a more morbid tendency and poor Seamus had drowned. I just couldn’t find another word for fluid that would indicate his friends’ tears and not upchucking. Oh well, multiple possibilities keep more readers happy – hopefully. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      • Ha!ha!I guess your hubby and me have the same yucky minds 😉

        atrm61

        April 24, 2014 at 8:32 pm

  10. Poor Seamus. 😦 I think in a weird way he got back at them for that treatment. Good and well-written story. 🙂

    patriciaruthsusan

    April 21, 2014 at 2:00 pm

  11. I thought blood at first, and that Seamus is dead. Is that a bit too morbid?

    Jessie Ansons

    April 21, 2014 at 10:17 pm

    • Blood isn’t too morbid. I had imagined Seamus had drowned and the fluid was his friends’ tears at their realisation that they’d effectively killed him. So I’m glad you were on my wavelength.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 8:21 pm

  12. Jovial hazing that turns into dark and deadly mistake. Nicely written story.

    weltchysnotebook

    April 21, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    • Thank you. It’s good to know you read the ending as deadly, as I’ve learnt since posting I left this one a little too ambiguous.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 8:41 pm

  13. A good take on the prompt. I’m glad you did a better late than never submisssion.

    aliciajamtaas

    April 21, 2014 at 10:49 pm

    • Thanks. I am often late, but this week there was just too much on to get organised any earlier. I’m glad you read and enjoyed.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 8:50 pm

  14. oh, i really don’t want to know what fluid fell to the deck…good one, Sarah.

    Sun

    April 22, 2014 at 3:08 am

    • I’d like to know what you were thinking… we’ve had vomit and blood and I was thinking tears. So, any more to add to the mix? 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 8:57 pm

  15. Ohh, messy (I think). Nice read. At number 100 you’re last.

    patrickprinsloo

    April 22, 2014 at 8:42 am

    • Thanks for the read – glad you liked it. I’m as late with my reading as with my posting – will get there soon.

      Sarah Ann

      April 22, 2014 at 8:55 pm

  16. It doesn’t matter to him what the fluid/liquid was, does it? But it gives us lots of scope for speculation, a typical FF move. 🙂 I, too, now have the song firmly in my head.

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    April 23, 2014 at 12:25 am


Leave a Reply

