Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Every Wednesday – #gargleblaster157

with 21 comments

 

Within the hour, I am destroyed.

She welcomes me; massages my scars.

Comforted, I allow her to tease apart the healed skin.

When she prods raw flesh, I cannot run, but stay and feel the pain.

And next week, I will return.

 



 

 

This is my submission for this week’s gargleblaster challenge from yeahwrite.

In 42 words, writers are invited to answer the Ultimate Question. This week:

Do you see her much?

 

 

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

April 14, 2014 at 6:19 pm

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I liked the description, even though I don’t think I got it. Is it massage therapy?

    Marcy

    April 14, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    • Hi Marcy, Thanks for the comment. I was alluding to the way a therapist gets under your skin and opens up old wounds to work on. Maybe I needed more than 42-words to get that across.

      Sarah Ann

      April 15, 2014 at 4:45 pm

  2. oh, those relationships, those people, we can’t say no to. No matter how much they hurt us, we take on the pain thinking it will make us whole or loved.

    I loved the line ” I allow her to tease apart the healed skin.”
    sometimes the very people responsible for those scars are the ones give access to them over and over again.

    A thoughtful, meaningful piece.

    Kir Piccini

    April 14, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    • Thank you Kir. I’m glad you liked that line as I agonised over it and re-worded. It’s true the ones responsible for the scars enable easy access to them. Hopefully my protagonist will heal fully given the space and time to work through the hurt.

      Sarah Ann

      April 15, 2014 at 4:49 pm

  3. Vivid descriptions! When I read this, I was thinking physical therapy. If it weren’t for the teasing apart of healed skin, I would’ve thought of intense counseling or therapy sessions, as they tend to bother old scars well πŸ™‚

    jannatwrites

    April 14, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    • You got it with the counselling – definitely bothering old scars. Thankfully, this one isn’t written from my own experience.

      Sarah Ann

      April 15, 2014 at 4:37 pm

  4. Therapists, they do get under your skin, don’t they? And by the way, my name is Jennifer Ann Hall!

    Jennifer Hall

    April 15, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    • I think therapists need to get under your skin if they’re to do any work. I’m not sure I’d want them there, in fact, I know I wouldn’t πŸ™‚ Oh look, putting up defences before I even start.
      (Were you born a Hall or did you marry one? I did the latter.)

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2014 at 6:40 pm

  5. I got that it was therapy, though I was definitely thinking of something physical, not counseling. Upon rereading it, I liked it even more. It’s a wonderful metaphor, and it goes to show I should slow down when I’m reading! Thanks for linking up.

    Christine

    April 16, 2014 at 12:49 am

    • Thank you. It is a joy to link up and receive everyone’s comments as well as reading their responses to the same prompt. I too need to slow my reading as very often miss the point until I reach the comments. πŸ™‚

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2014 at 6:37 pm

  6. I was also thinking physical therapy at first. But now that you say it’s counselling, I totally see where you’re coming from. That’s so, so true of any kind of meaningful therapy. Nice piece!

    Larks

    April 16, 2014 at 6:27 am

    • Thank you. I know someone undergoing therapy at the moment and she feels it’s only working when she comes away feeling drained and exhausted.

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2014 at 6:38 pm

  7. Love the layers in this Sarah:-)I sense a kind of SM relationship here-one loves to hurt under the guise of “healing” and the other derives some kind of pleasure from being hurt.Many of us can relate to that last line-it is like a fix-even though we know we will suffer,still we cannot stop ourselves!

    atrm61

    April 16, 2014 at 7:56 am

    • Oh wow. You’ve taken this to a whole new level! I’m going to have to read it again now with that in mind.

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2014 at 6:34 pm

  8. I thought first of the physical then the emotional or psychological. I love that it works so well on both of those levels at the same time.

    tinsenpup

    April 16, 2014 at 9:05 am

    • Thank you. Glad it works on both levels. Although I don’t think I want anyone opening old wounds and poking their fingers in. πŸ™‚

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2014 at 6:31 pm

  9. To come out of the pain, we have to feel the pain… I guess. Sensitive and thoughtful writing.

    anmol(alias HA)

    April 16, 2014 at 10:09 am

    • Ignoring the pain doesn’t work apparently. Glad you felt it was sensitive. Thank you.

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2014 at 6:29 pm

  10. It has to hurt in order to heal, doesn’t it? I liked this one!

    jenbrunett

    April 16, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    • That’s the idea, although having to relive the hurt can have all sorts of other consequences. Very happy you liked it. Thanks.

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2014 at 6:24 pm


Leave a Reply

