Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Interpretation services required

with 7 comments

I have heard back from the agent to whom I sent the synopsis and first three chapters of my book. His response:

“I’m so sorry but I just did not fall in love with this. Good luck elsewhere.”

My eternally optimistic self takes this as a positive – the writing wasn’t criticised, he just found the opening to the story underwhelming. However, having no previous experience, I am at a loss as to how to interpret this hand-written note appended to the bottom of my covering letter.

Calling all those with experience of agents, and the doomsayers and pessimists – bring me back down to earth. Tell me what he really means.

Written by Sarah Ann

April 12, 2014 at 2:09 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fellow optimist here. I’m afraid I can’t help you translate, but I CAN say – good luck in your queries. I know they’ll pay off, and it’ll all be worth it once you’re holding the published book in your hands! 🙂

    Topaz

    April 12, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence. It’s good to know you’re behind me – pushing me forwards 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2014 at 6:37 pm

  2. i think he was being polite. to put it bluntly, he didn’t like it. anyway, your book may not be that bad at all. he may just not be the right person to review it. history is full of rejects that ultimately became classics. i suggest that you send it to other publishers. don’t ever give up. i want to see the movie version of your book someday.

    plaridel

    April 12, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    • He was being polite yes, but perhaps not very useful. I don’t know why I expected useful comments. I’m not giving up. I need to do a little more research on which agent to approach next, but I do intend to try again, and again, and again. I’m not sure on the movie rights. It might be one of those UK arthouse films, maybe. It’s definitely not a blockbuster storyline! 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2014 at 6:40 pm

      • methinks you sent it to the wrong agent. i’m glad you’re not giving up.

        plaridel

        April 14, 2014 at 8:10 pm

  3. Sarah, I’m sure you’ve considered self publishing – believe in yourself.

    On the positive side – that agent is kind enough to reply – most simply don’t even have the time to do it because they are inundated with queries.

    Eric Alagan

    April 13, 2014 at 12:47 am

    • Hi Eric, I have considered self-publishing, and am planning on doing that with some of my short stories in due course. I want to try the traditional route a little longer before I self-pub my novel. I do believe in myself as a writer, but not my ability to market my product. And you’re right, I was lucky to receive any comment.

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2014 at 6:45 pm


Leave a Reply

