Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

A number of OMGs – WIP update

with 4 comments

OMG 1 – Yippee.

I’ve been re-reading and revising my blog – going through each post from the first one in May 2011. I can’t believe I’ve been sending out my thoughts for that long. Initial posts were about the lack of progress on my manuscript. As I sent it to a prospective agent only last month, it has been a long time in gestation. Still, the blog revision has been a relatively easy experience. I only deleted a couple of (now irrelevant) posts and found typos in relatively few – Yippee.

 

OMG 2 – For pity’s sake!

Reading my manuscript aloud again (from Chapter 4 onwards), I am seriously beginning to question whether I have a subconscious typo monster. I think he dances across my keyboard whenever I’m not looking. Of the first ten pages read, five needed amending. Admittedly, one was replacing an ‘L’ with an ‘l’; another was a ‘to’ for a ‘the’. But still the typos remained. Further into the manuscript, there were more pages that needed no changes – Good.

Having read D. R. Humphrey’s Self-Editing and Evaluation Checklist: Four steps to polish your manuscript, I read the manuscript last time with a style-sheet at my side. I thought I had eradicated different spellings of words (e.g. half-way and half way), but no. On this read through I had used ‘anymore’ and ‘any more,’ and my use of numerals and written numbers was still inconsistent – Oh well.

 

OMG 3 – WTF?

More disturbing than both of these was my recent trawl through my old short stories. What drivel I wrote! All my characters seem to share a very small pool of names – they were different in personalities, but I obviously have a small repertoire of names I call on repeatedly. And then there’s the recognisable turn of phrase and use of language. Thankfully, I think my writing has improved. I have printed a few of the stories to read through and see if they can be tweaked or reworked. Most won’t be looked at again, ever, but I’m still not brave enough to send them to the recycle bin – Shame!

 

Written by Sarah Ann

April 3, 2014 at 1:11 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Revisiting the ‘OMGs’ does help.

    Typos – I know one guy who blames it all on geckos – after he has written, a gecko crawls over his keyboard it seems 🙂

    Eric Alagan

    April 4, 2014 at 12:52 am

    • I can go with typo geckos. I’d probably scream and run a mile if I actually saw one though. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      April 5, 2014 at 10:39 am

  2. The typo monster visits me, too! I’m impressed that you read through your old posts – I’m not brave enough to do that 🙂

    jannatwrites

    April 4, 2014 at 4:38 am

    • Thankfully none of my posts are too long. And I’ve not noticed any typos in your work. I’m about to re-read Darlene’s story all the way through so if I come across any I’ll let you know – in an email, of course, where no one else can see. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      April 5, 2014 at 10:42 am


Leave a Reply

