Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Trifextra: 105 – Free write – Whimpering

with 28 comments

This week’s last Trifecta Challenge is just not fair! Thank you Lisa and Joules for all the prompts, support, and work you’ve done making this challenge such a fun one.

 

”For the final challenge here at Trifecta, we considered some flash and dazzle, a wild prompt to send us off with a bang.  What we realized was the most achingly beautiful, haunting and dazzling words we’ve read from our brilliant community have been the ones you chose when you were given the freedom to write with abandon.  So we’re lovingly, and eagerly, placing the choice in your hands.  There’s no topic, no word, just a free write. Go anywhere your mind wants to travel.  Take us there too.  Just make it count, leave your blood all over this page.  Thirty-three words exactly.  Of course.  We couldn’t end it any other way.”

 –––––

 

Whimpering (33-words)

What, no prompt? – I struggle with one.

Free-write the first thing that comes into my head? – NOTHING.

It’s as impossible as not thinking about pink elephants.

My last Trifecta response: out on a –

 

Written by Sarah Ann

March 26, 2014 at 10:23 pm

28 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. *hahaha* This is totally cheeky – I love it. 🙂

    Christine

    March 26, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    • I wasn’t trying to be cheeky but am pleased it evoked that reaction. Whenever I’m given a choice, my mind goes blank. I need rules and structure to write to. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      March 27, 2014 at 11:53 am

  2. Love what you did with the prompt by making the prompt about the prompt! Hahaha, clever!

    M. L. Sexton

    March 26, 2014 at 11:59 pm

  3. Hey Sarah,you stole my lines!Lol!Loved this and its exactly what I felt-am not a real writer I guess-unable tow rite without prompts-like junkies without their fix,eh?Ha!ha!Am glad we became friends and I enjoy interacting with you -so stay in touch and see you on FF and other places :-)love ya! xx

    atrm61

    March 27, 2014 at 8:49 am

    • That is such a fib, about me stealing your lines. I’ve read yours and it’s way better than mine. I don’t think being unable to respond to the prompt is about how good/ not/ proper a writer you are. I think it’s got more to do with how much else is rushing around in your head. At least that’s my excuse. 😉

      Sarah Ann

      March 27, 2014 at 12:10 pm

      • Ha!ha!Love your funny bone Sarah 😀 And yes,I love your excuse too-am stealing it 😉

        atrm61

        March 28, 2014 at 3:17 pm

  4. Kool take.

    yarnspinnerr

    March 27, 2014 at 9:42 am

  5. A great last Trifecta. I wish you hadn’t mentioned pink elephants though, I can’t now get them out of my head!

    Mike

    March 27, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    • Thanks, Mike. Sorry about the elephants. I hope you’re thinking about something else soon. Or maybe write a story about them. They’ve left me alone since I mentioned them.

      Sarah Ann

      March 27, 2014 at 9:47 pm

  6. You really stuck that landing! Magic.

    tnkerr

    March 27, 2014 at 1:12 pm

  7. Pink elephants? Pink elephants? On the LAST Trifecta you have to go and bring out the pink elephants???
    Love your whimper, Sarah Ann! Be seeing ya!

    KymmInBarcelona

    March 27, 2014 at 4:55 pm

    • Be seeing you too, Kymm. Apologies for the pink elephants. Since writing about them, I haven’t thought about or seen them at all. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      March 27, 2014 at 9:45 pm

  8. Now I’m stuck on pink elephants as well ,,, darn

  9. So many of us have offered poignant farewells this week. Thanks so much for the much-needed giggle!

    lovethebadguy

    March 28, 2014 at 7:45 am

  10. Damn, I wish I had thought of something like this. The first line… pure gold.

    tedstrutz

    March 28, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    • Why thank you, Ted – that is praise indeed. But I think you can take some of the credit. Didn’t one of your early Trifecta entries write about the prompt instead of using it? So I was just copying you 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      March 29, 2014 at 11:02 am

  11. Dang it. Now all I can think about is pink elephants 🙂 I agree with you – it’s so much easier to write with some parameters.

    jannatwrites

    March 28, 2014 at 9:02 pm

    • Thanks, Janna. Sorry about the pink elephants – they are stamping around quite a bit now. Yes, parameters are good. I used to enjoy Andy Black’s Two for Tuesday challenges – somehow having more criteria to meet made the writing easier.

      Sarah Ann

      March 29, 2014 at 11:05 am

  12. Haha! Thanks for the much needed giggle. And thanks for being a member of this community. Good luck and happy writing!

    trifectawriting

    March 30, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    • Thank you. Glad you enjoyed the giggle. And thank you for hosting such a wonderful challenge.

      Sarah Ann

      March 31, 2014 at 7:13 pm


Leave a Reply

