Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Trifecta: 114 – Satisfy – The King and His Peasant

with 10 comments

I thought and thought about this week’s Trifecta challenge, but didn’t get very far. Then this idea came from absolutely nowhere. I’m not happy with it, but with nothing else nudging my fingers toward the keyboard, this is it.

 

The prompt:

SATISFY  (transitive verb)
1a : to carry out the terms of (as a contract) : discharge
b : to meet a financial obligation to
2: to make reparation to (an injured party) : indemnify
3a : to make happy : please  

b : to gratify to the full : appease
4a : convince
b : to put an end to (doubt or uncertainty) : dispel
5a : to conform to (as specifications) : be adequate to (an end in view)

 

The rules:

• Your response must be exactly 33 words.

• You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.

• The word itself needs to be included in your response.

• You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.

–––––

 

 

The King and His Peasant (33-words)

King and peasant share a prison cell.

‘How may I satisfy you, sire?’

‘Tell me your story.’

‘Sire?’

‘Speak! It’s too late for my neck, but I can still learn from my subjects.’

 

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

March 20, 2014 at 10:11 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d like to know the circumstances that put the king and the peasant in a cell together. 🙂

    Christine

    March 20, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    • I don’t know how either got there. I have a feeling maybe the king upset the wrong general. And the peasant? Well, maybe just being alive was his crime. The causation in this is definitely one for the readers’ imagination. 😉

      Sarah Ann

      March 23, 2014 at 7:41 pm

  2. The king seems wise, in that he wants to hear from the people even in his situation. Makes me curious as to what landed him in the predicament 🙂

    jannatwrites

    March 21, 2014 at 5:31 am

    • I don’t know how he got into his predicament, but he is keen to learn now he’s there. Maybe he’ll even find a way out? Thanks for popping by. (I will be reading your latest posts soon – the last two weeks have been a bit frantic and I’m very behind on my reading!) 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      March 23, 2014 at 7:44 pm

  3. Gotta love a story teller, and a story listener!

    KymmInBarcelona

    March 21, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    • Thanks Kymm. Without the latter, the former would go hoarse for nothing.

      Sarah Ann

      March 23, 2014 at 7:46 pm

  4. Too late I guess-this thirst- for the king? 😉 Interesting take Sarah and glad we are in touch:-)

    atrm61

    March 22, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    • Interesting take? That’s a nice way of saying, ‘Where the hell did that come from?’ 😉 (I think my muse and I are coming out to play at different times of the day at the mo.) And yes, I think it probably is too the late for the king. But maybe a little humility and learning might save him.

      Sarah Ann

      March 23, 2014 at 7:51 pm

      • Ha!ha!Sarah-that is so not true!You are incorrigible! 😀

        atrm61

        March 25, 2014 at 10:23 am

  5. That sounds like a king that shouldn’t be beheaded.

    trifectawriting

    March 24, 2014 at 6:24 am


Leave a Reply

