Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 14/3/14 – Ticket to the Other Side

with 35 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry.

Every Friday (or before) the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word tales. Visit Rochelle’s site for the rules on how to join in and check out the other stories by clicking on the blue guy.

 

AdamIckes-boardwalk

Copyright – Adam Ickes

 

Whilst commenting on each other’s posts last week, Wandering Voiceless and I mooted the idea of rating how easy or not we found the photo prompt at generating stories. I suggested a scale of 1 (instantly) to 5 (I’m still thinking about it). This week’s photo for me was about a 4.5.

The thing that sprang to mind immediately was trolls, but Björn wrote a troll story last year that was so good I still don’t want to compete with it. (I can’t find it – my link doesn’t go there anymore). Then I had a thought about cows crossing to the grass that’s greener and the bridge collapsing while they were halfway across, told from the POV of a cow of course. On Thursday night, I went to bed no further forward. All the time I wasn’t getting anywhere, a lyric from Solarstone’s Jump the Next Train kept reeling through my head – Take a ticket to the other side – and that’s what I ended up going with.

–––––

 

Ticket to the Other Side

(Genre: Speculative fiction; 100-words)

– Roll up. Get your tickets here. Cross the bridge and fulfil your dreams.

What’s on the other side, Mister?

– What can you see?

Green grass, warmth, bright lights. And ice-cream.

– You’ll do well. You’re a true dreamer.

Tommy, get back here!

Aww, Mum, I wanna cross.

It’s not safe.

But it looks beautiful, Mum. All that grass.

What grass? The bridge is near collapse. The land is broken. There is only misery and pain over there.

The man said I could take a look.

Did he also tell you it’s a one-way ticket? Where do you think your father went?

 

Friday Fictioneers

Written by Sarah Ann

March 14, 2014 at 10:02 pm

35 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That was good. You should always follow your dreams 🙂

    JackieP

    March 14, 2014 at 10:24 pm

  2. keeping track of family members especially on mysterious trips can be a daunting task. great story, Sarah.

    Sun

    March 14, 2014 at 11:28 pm

  3. Nice one – how we all see things from our own perspective and that is reflected in out dreams.

    erinleary

    March 15, 2014 at 1:30 am

    • Thank you. Our dreams are rarely the same, even when we might think we want the same things.

      Sarah Ann

      March 17, 2014 at 10:44 pm

  4. I’d probably cross for ice cream 😉 oops to daddy 😦

    ramblingsfromamum

    March 15, 2014 at 6:51 am

    • You means you’d choose ice-cream over mum’s sensible advice! You can ;et us know what’s on the other side then. 😉

      Sarah Ann

      March 17, 2014 at 10:43 pm

  5. Wow!Love the two POVs and the many layers in this tale:-)How “coloured” our vision becomes as we grow older o one can say experience makes us wiser but we pay a price in the form of losing our dreams-the innocence and beauty in a child’s eyes get corrupted by what the adults or the world around him show him/her or the way we want him/her to see it-loved this Sarah-excellent job:-)

    atrm61

    March 15, 2014 at 8:38 am

    • Thanks for the great comment. I saw this from the mum’s POV but you make me see the story differently. Maybe she is just tired and jaded.

      Sarah Ann

      March 17, 2014 at 11:07 pm

      • We adults usually lose the magic “eye” but it can go both ways-loved it Sarah:-)

        atrm61

        March 19, 2014 at 2:02 pm

  6. Sooo funny… I ended up with a young male protaganist, too. (I’ll be publishing later this morning.)

    Thanks for the shout-out on the 1-5… I had also added a ping-back to you and was testing it when I saw yours to me!

    :>

    Wandering Voiceless

    March 15, 2014 at 11:36 am

    • I’m glad you saw it this way. I wrote it as a nightmare for the mum, but it’s good to know it works humorously as well. (I think 😉 )

      Sarah Ann

      March 17, 2014 at 11:10 pm

  7. […] feature: Sara Ann and I have decided to add a scale of difficulty: On a scale of 1 (instantly) to 5 (I’m still […]

  8. Dear Sarah Ann,

    A lot to consider before purchasing a ticket. I think I’d turn and buy ice cream elsewhere. Nice dialogue.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    March 15, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    • Thank you, Rochelle. I’m with you, ice-cream from another vendor is the safe way to go.

      Sarah Ann

      March 17, 2014 at 10:46 pm

  9. A ticket and it’s your choice. That would be most interesting, wouldn’t it? I bet a lot of people would chose to chance it with a ticket. A thought provoking read, Sarah! On another note, most prompts are a 4.5 every week for me. So, I hope this consoles you.

    Amy Reese

    March 15, 2014 at 6:52 pm

    • I still don’t know if I’d take the ticket – probably not. I’m a bit of a scaredy cat. And yes, knowing you struggle with the prompts is consoling 😉

      Sarah Ann

      March 17, 2014 at 11:13 pm

  10. An excellent take.. really very good.. I really liked the dreamers….and those that don’t… I had forgot the troll one…

    I think this is the one maybe : http://brudberg.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/sunshine-of-my-life-100-word-friday-fictioneers/

    • Thank you! I’m glad all the characters came across well. And yes, that’s the one. I’ll fix my link.

      Sarah Ann

      March 17, 2014 at 11:19 pm

  11. I like this. Especially the end, add such an intriguing level of mystery about the story. Very well done Sarah.

    summerstommy2

    March 15, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    • Thank you. I’m happy you found it intriguing. That’s what I was hoping for.

      Sarah Ann

      March 17, 2014 at 11:20 pm

  12. Uh-oh! Thank god mum is there to protect. Great.

    patrickprinsloo

    March 16, 2014 at 1:23 pm

    • Thank you. Yes, I imagined the ticket seller to be reminiscent of the Ratcatcher, so a caring parent is a definite bonus.

      Sarah Ann

      March 17, 2014 at 11:02 pm

  13. Listen to your Mom! Good story – thanks, Nan.

    Nan Falkner

    March 17, 2014 at 6:04 am

  14. Lovely story Sarah Ann — it’s all in the eye of the beholder.

    Sandra

    March 17, 2014 at 11:50 am

  15. Good story and well written. I think Mom’s right. If someone goes and doesn’t come back, that’s scary.

    patriciaruthsusan

    March 17, 2014 at 7:18 pm

  16. Excellent story Sarah! I love the dreamers but one-way tickets– even to paradise– scares me.

    K.Z.

    March 18, 2014 at 6:47 am

    • I’d never have thought you’d be scared by a one-way ticket! Thanks for reading and sharing that revealing comment 😉

      Sarah Ann

      March 18, 2014 at 11:44 am

  17. Hi Sarah,
    Good one. Always be suspicious of one-way trips. Very imaginative story. Being a dreamer, I can really relate. I also tried to come up with a troll story, but it just wouldn’t come to me. I agree with you the photo is about a 4.5. It took me about a day of thinking before I settled on my concept. Ron

    bridgesareforburning

    March 18, 2014 at 3:17 pm

  18. Ice cream is awfully enticing.

    lingeringvisions by Dawn

    March 19, 2014 at 3:59 am


Leave a Reply

