Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Trifextra: 104 – Moving On

with 12 comments

I was sad to read that Trifecta is packing up and we’ll only have challenges until the end of this month. Thank you to the editors who read and judge our entries every week – it must be a daunting and exhausting task. Good luck with your new adventures.

 

This week’s prompt asked for 33-words including a palindrome. I couldn’t help but go with one of those given as an example.

 

“Are we not drawn onward, we few, drawn onward to new era?

This week’s challenge: You’ve got exactly 33 words and one of the must be a palindrome. Not sure what one of those is? Look above. It’s a word or phrase that reads the same forwards and backwards. For example, words like mum, mom, refer or sexes etc. Or phrases, such as the one above; or ‘seven eves’ or ‘yo banana boy!’ For some palindromic inspiration and a huge list of them, check out http://www.palindromelist.net/

So, you’ve got your usual 33 words, but you must use a palindrome and to help us out, please highlight it. Thanks!”

–––––

 

 

Moving On

Yo’ banana boy. We’re off to pastures new. Coming?

Be hard here without yo’.

Come along then.

I gotta pack.

Leave it. Let’s go naked into the future.

Yo’s crazy.

Nope, just daring.

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

March 13, 2014 at 2:34 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The image of banana boy running off naked into the future! Such fun, Sarah!

    KymmInBarcelona

    March 13, 2014 at 5:07 pm

    • I have a new image in my head now. He wasn’t called banana boy for that reason, was he? Thank you for making me see my story in a new light!

      Sarah Ann

      March 13, 2014 at 8:48 pm

  2. What a lovely way to pay your respects. I think a lot of folks are feeling a little “naked” without Trifecta’s presence much longer. Thanks for capturing the mood so accurately. Now, it is for us to step bravely forward….with confidence, I hope. 🙂 Best of luck in our post-Trifecta world. It has been a pleasure reading your good work these past months.

    cobourgcobbie

    March 13, 2014 at 6:42 pm

    • Thank you for your wonderful comment. It has been great to read your posts and I hope we do go bravely forward. The Triecta community has bouyed me up and covered my nakedness.
      Best of luck to you too. I’ve signed up to follow via email so I won’t miss another of your posts. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      March 13, 2014 at 8:50 pm

  3. What a great, hopeful response. Not to mention, it uses one of the silliest palindromes in the list. 🙂

    Christine

    March 13, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    • I’m happy it came across as hopeful, because I’m not sure what I’ll do without Trifecta. The challenges were always so challenging I couldn’t help having a go. And yes to silly. I couldn’t imagine who came up with YBB, or why, so just had to use it.

      Sarah Ann

      March 15, 2014 at 11:18 am

  4. Ha! I was hopin’ somebody would go all banana boy on us! 😉 Fun!

    whimsygizmo

    March 14, 2014 at 3:33 am

    • Thank you. Oh banana boy seemed such a ridiculous palindrome, it begged to be worked into something 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      March 15, 2014 at 11:32 am

  5. Lovely, and true. It reads like music. Perhaps you have a musical talent? I would love to hear it sung. I saw two genuine characters on an endless golden wheat field. Shimmering rays of sunshine floating among them like sparkles. That is the sort of imagery your piece managed to manifest. Nice work!

    TNT

    March 14, 2014 at 5:09 am

    • Thank you for that wonderful comment. I’m glad it provoked such imagery – they were definitely standing in hot, dry place, but I saw them on a street corner rather than a wheat field. They’re happy to move! As for musical talent, I wish I had some. I play at piano and like listening, but that’s as far as it goes. We’ll have to hope someone else feels inspired to put them to music.

      Sarah Ann

      March 15, 2014 at 11:37 am

  6. Heh. Banana Boy is naked. 🙂 I like this very much. Very whimsical. Thanks for linking up.

    trifectawriting

    March 17, 2014 at 11:46 am


Leave a Reply

