Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

It’s in the post…

with 4 comments

The book I have been working on, for far longer than I care to admit, is in the post to a carefully targeted agent. Still, I expect it to return at some point and I have to do more reading in my genre (contemporary, issue-based fiction) in order to identify prospective agents two, three, four and so on.

With hubby away for the weekend, I read the whole manuscript aloud and identified a few typos, the odd punctuation inaccuracy, and a couple of sentence structure issues. I had already drafted the approach letter and synopsis, but being ultra careful decided to print both, along with the corrected first three chapters, to read again on Monday morning. Will I ever be free of typos? There weren’t many, but there were still some. However, this additional check, and another day of delay, did ensure I haven’t sent a document with any mistakes to my prospective agent.

The fact that there were miniscule mistakes in the first three chapters means that I need to check the other fifteen. So, the whole manuscript needed to be printed again. My toner was running out and paper was in short supply, but this was not a problem. Hubby was in town so could buy me paper, and I had a spare toner cartridge bought at the same time as the printer. In it went, and bang went the printer. Well, not exactly, but she did protest. She stamped her foot and glowered that her cover was open.

‘No it’s not,’ I told her solicitously.

‘Is too.’

‘No it isn’t. Look, I’ll open and close it just in case your sensors have got stuck.’

‘My cover’s open.’

‘No it’s –‘

Suffice it to say, I suffer from printer-related insecurity. Printers and I have issues. I’m fine when they work and do as they’re told. I throw things when they don’t.

It turned out, after more foot-stamping on her part and frantic hair-pulling on mine, that the new cartridge was the wrong one. So once, hubby was home, off we trundled to whence we bought the printer and its replacement cartridge. This was over a year ago so we weren’t hopeful of a good outcome. Thankfully, the shop staff accepted it was their mistake and we only had to pay a little more to come home with the correct refill. (We unpacked it in the shop and compared it to the original before leaving just to make sure)

So, only a day later than planned (oh all right, six weeks beyond my end of January deadline) the opening of my book is out there, having to stand on its own, and I am free to get on with other projects. Well, after I’ve finished re-checking chapters 4-18 for the odd comma that should be a full-stop, and made sure that all the numerals/ numbers as words are consistent (again). New projects are planned or started, but will have to wait just a little while longer.

Written by Sarah Ann

March 11, 2014 at 9:47 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the humour in this post, Sarah, and empathise with many of the issues you’ve mentioned. My printer and I have a so-so relationship, but we still have mild altercations now and then. As for typos … I’ve just started proofreading our latest work as a Kindle book (rather than as an Office document) and I’m *certain* the typos breed when I’m not looking……pesky little &%^$£?! 😉

    Very best of luck with your search for representation. 🙂

    • Thanks Joanna. I’m glad there was humour in this post – it must come on slowly after all the stress and screaming has stopped.
      And as for the typos, they’re invisible until you hit send, when they suddenly become obvious and wave at you. Definitely pesky little &%^$£?!

      Sarah Ann

      March 12, 2014 at 12:20 pm

  2. Yay! All the best!

    Abraham

    March 12, 2014 at 10:29 pm


Leave a Reply

