Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

What have I been doing? – I don’t know.

with 13 comments

I don’t know where the last few months have gone. I do know that I’m not good without a routine – I flit about and find things to do, but don’t necessarily do what I need to or should. With the clearance of my aunt’s home taking up more time than I could have imagined, I haven’t been blogging, I haven’t been writing, and I haven’t read much either.

In early December, I sent the first draft of an agent’s letter and synopsis of my WIP to the published mother of a friend. Useful advice was returned promptly – ‘… the letter is too long and contains irrelevant information; the synopsis didn’t grab me.’ Over Christmas and in early January I was busy with other things: hubby and I did some building work; I was physically tired; and my writing neurons were taking a break whether I liked it or not.

As January progressed and hubby went back to college, leaving me to my own devices, I caught up with emails, did lots of tidying, polished floors, practised some piano, and steered clear of the laptop keyboard and blogosphere. I didn’t try to write because I felt I wouldn’t produce anything useful. If I looked at my synopsis, I felt I would get bogged down in it, so I ignored it and tried to think about my WIP instead. When online, I didn’t seem to have time or inclination to read what anyone else was doing or writing.

In the last couple of weeks I have made two separate attempts at writing a synopsis, and I think that, with the second of these, I’ve cracked it. I’ve sent it to two of my most useful (in terms of constructive comments) beta-readers to ask them if they think it sums up my book. I have missed my deadline of the end of January to send my WIP to agents, but I don’t think I’ll be too far into February before it is in the post. And with that done, yesterday, I took the first steps towards catching up on some of the blogs I’ve missed over the last months. I don’t think I’m ready to return to the flash fiction circuit (I look at the prompts and my mind remains blank) but hopefully reading others’ stories will pull me back in again. In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy exploring everyone else’s imaginations.

Written by Sarah Ann

January 30, 2014 at 2:03 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I noticed you had visited – thank you and welcome back Sarah. So glad you have nailed your synopsis, not an easy thing to write. Write when you are ready, don’t spend too much time polishing floors though, you need those fingers for when your Muse returns 🙂 x

    ramblingsfromamum

    January 30, 2014 at 2:12 pm

    • Hi Jenny. Thanks for being there whenever I raise my head. It’s the knees that suffer more with the floor polishing than the fingers. Not sure what to do to encourage the muse back in, just wait until she’s ready I suppose. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      February 3, 2014 at 11:59 am

  2. Hi Sarah!I can so feel you-though am not writing a book or anything,I keep feeling overwhelmed when faced with prompts and reading and responding to comments!It makes me wonder if I am really cut up to write at all?I only seem to be able to function in fits and spurts!Sigh!Anyways,I do hope you will get some positive feedback and soon you will be a published writer:-)I wish you all the best and a wonderful 2014,tc & God Bless 🙂

    atrm61

    January 30, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    • With your stories I don’t think there’s any doubt about you being cut out to write! I’m happy to be reading your work again – I just need to keep it up.
      Thanks for your comment and good wishes. You will know when anything positive (and negative come to that) happens on the publishing front.

      Sarah Ann

      February 3, 2014 at 12:03 pm

      • Sarah,that’s such high praise -thank you so much-I wish I had the confidence cos at the moment my mind is blank-am trying to think about a prompt but zilch,lol!Yes,keeping up with reading,commenting is a real challenge specially if one is lazy like me,he!he!Will keep an eye out for your posts and am sure there
        will be positive news :-)Tc & God Bless xx

        atrm61

        February 3, 2014 at 3:53 pm

  3. You’ll probably feel better for having had a break – I know I do, though it takes me time to get back into it again. I noticed you’d not been about, but looking forward to hearing from you when you’re back in action and good luck with the book. Fingers crossed for you.

    Sandra

    February 3, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    • Thank you Sandra. I’m finding it’s taking more time than I expected to get going again. Hopefully reading what others are writing will kick start something.

      Sarah Ann

      February 3, 2014 at 7:50 pm

      • Relax… it will happen. 🙂

        Sandra

        February 3, 2014 at 8:49 pm

  4. A break can be great.. had a short one during Christmas… So great to see you back.. I noted that you had passed my blog.. and it made me so happy.. hope to see you writing again… Whichever prompt were our roads might cross.

    Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    February 3, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    • Thank you, Björn, for your lovely comments. I’m looking forward to seeing how differently we can interpret some of the same prompts soon.

      Sarah Ann

      February 5, 2014 at 12:31 pm

  5. Glad you’re back, Sarah! I have no doubt that one day you’ll see the right prompt and and a story will be told 🙂 You’ve been awfully busy with life and novel wrap up, so I think it’s normal that you needed some time away.

    jannatwrites

    February 4, 2014 at 6:46 am

    • Thanks Janna. Hopefully the right prompt will give me the required kick any day now… 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      February 5, 2014 at 12:33 pm


Leave a Reply

