Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Steam-rollered time

with 4 comments

After posting recently about how I seem to always be catching up, life, in the form of a death, has squished time even thinner. Following the recent demise of my aunt I am writing more lists of jobs-to-do than usual and precious little else. The funeral has to be arranged, post has to be sorted, subscriptions cancelled, friends contacted, and family negotiated with. It’s exhausting and my imagination has been boxed away in a cubbyhole, the flaps taped securely. I didn’t want this to happen, but there’s no space for her to flit about and procreate. Hence my WIPs are in the doldrums, my flash fiction is absent, and my reading of blogs non-existent, for which I apologise.

In the midst of this, I attended a talk this week entitled, ‘If we can write, so can you.’ This entailed a member of our local library services asking Essie Fox, Julia Cohen, Scott Andrews and Kate Mayfield a series of questions – where they get their inspiration, who chooses book covers, and others that I have forgotten. The questions were more interesting than I’ve indicated but they faded quickly as the answers given fed each other and made for an entertaining and useful evening. There was a lot I already knew, but my revelation was the fact that I might have finally found my genre – contemporary issue-driven romance. Well, not the romance bit, but contemporary issue-driven definitely fits. So now I read Julia’s book and see if mine is of a similar ilk, and then I look for equivalent books, and then I look for the agents who represent those authors in order to approach them. It’s great to have a plan, but it feels like I’m starting another long process and I see my self-imposed deadlines evaporating.

 

 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. deadlines will come – deadlines will pass – how you choose to use the moments in between is what will have the most effect, glad you found your genre,don’t worry about the stick it notes and the lists if they are needed to help you organise and keep you focused..they are fine *smiles* Condolences on your Aunt passing lovely 😦 xxx

    ramblingsfromamum

    October 3, 2013 at 9:50 am

    • All deadlines are way behind me now. Hopefully, after two months of skidding on ice with no barriers in sight, life is settling down to normal. Thank you for your comment and condolences. Looking forward to catching up on what you’ve been up to. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      December 6, 2013 at 4:41 pm

  2. Wow, you have a lot going on right now. I hope you are able to fit in some writing here and there. From what you wrote, I gather that finding your genre took some work. That actually makes me feel better, because I’m still trying to figure out what genre my stuff fits in. I think it’s cross-genre so it’s hard to find the right “box.”

    jannatwrites

    October 4, 2013 at 4:57 am

    • Replying very late to this, but yes finding a genre did take a while. I don’t think ‘general fiction’ gets you very far. But why do we have to pigeon-hole our writing? It flows and lives and takes on its own shape, and then others want to squeeze it into square-shaped hole.

      Sarah Ann

      December 6, 2013 at 4:38 pm


Leave a Reply

