Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Follow? Like? Comment? Works not in progress!

with 13 comments

Jennifer at elmowrites.wordpress.com recently posted about followers and converting readers of blogs to buyers of books. She posted her thoughts on 2nd September; I didn’t get around to reading them until the 18th, so was a little late to add much to the discussion, and it’s taken me until now to formulate a probably completely unrelated response.

I try to be a follower that reads. I might not always comment, but I do click though from my inbox to see what’s been posted. Since having three weeks off from blogging in the summer, things have been slightly out of control with my inbox hovering around 350 new emails – as fast as I read, like or comment, something new comes in to grab my attention. I tried starting my reading at both ends of the list to work towards the middle. I tried deleting everything over a week old. In the end, I had a good clear out before revising my ‘blogs I follow’ list. Most of the people who don’t like or comment on my blog, or even reply to comments I leave on theirs, I am now following in name only. For some others I now receive weekly rather than instant notifications of posts.

Trying to get to grips with 350 blog posts was taking time and effort. It took my focus away from my works in progress. Now, with fewer emails and posts to read, and having moved to an area with hardly any internet access for a week or two, I might be able to get back to work, as well as concentrating on the blogs I‘m still following and reading.

Written by Sarah Ann

September 22, 2013 at 10:51 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay first to like lol, you sound so frazzled my sweet. Being away can be disastrous in blog-land can’t it. The white rabbit scurrying around running out of time and not being able to accomplish what ones needs. If you read me I’m happy, if you like – all good, if you comment I’m up and dancing. There shouldn’t be the pressure but it seems we are steeped in it, step back as you are doing, breathe and all will be well in the land of S. (hugs) xx

    ramblingsfromamum

    September 22, 2013 at 10:58 am

    • Ooops, didn’t mean to sound frazzled. I obviously didn’t edit hard enough! I’ve had a busy weekend and the inbox is back up to 200. Oh well, what I can’t read I can’t, and if I have to do a bit more trimming of what I follow, so be it. Thank you for the hugs – as we head into autumn, I need them. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:04 pm

  2. I follow several….but only those I really want to know every time they write comes to my email. I think summer was hard for many because we tend to be busier. With winter (okay I don’t get snow or anything) the hibernating factor allows me to read a lot more and at a leisurely pace. Now, I say that and watch the chaotic summer go into my fall and winter. *sigh*

    Anja

    September 22, 2013 at 11:07 am

    • Good luck wading through the chaos. 🙂 Autumn and winter don’t yet seem likely to be any calmer, but I live in hope. I tend to be online less in the darker months because we have to generate our own electricity. I need to adjust my mindset to see flat batteries as a benefit. I do hope you get to enjoy some leisurely reading soon.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:27 pm

  3. Thank you reading me, and for the pingback. I know what it’s like to come back and be inundated – there’s no shame in skipping a few weeks, even on the blogs you enjoy following. And yes, I’ve taken the decision to follow fewer, better – you’re not doing anybody any favours by sacrificing your own writing to read other blogs!

    elmowrites

    September 22, 2013 at 5:42 pm

    • I enjoy reading your posts (especially the grammar ones). I just always seem to be catching up, as I leave the posts I want to read in my inbox until I have time to give them a proper read instead of a skim. By that time most of the world has moved on. I’ll hang on to the fact that the tortoise beat the hare in the end.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:12 pm

  4. This is what I have been chewing on since the time I returned after a 3 month hiatus,Sarah:-)I am comparatively new in” blog-o-sphere” and thus had committed the mistake of following everyone who “liked” or followed me but recently I have realized that I just don’t have the time 😛 So,I have started pruning my list-am un-following many blogs-those whose blogs do not interest me,those who never bother to read or comment on mine and those who “like”-always(so easy to click that without reading,isn’t it?).In a month’s time I hope to be reading and following people whose blogs I enjoy and who reciprocate in some small way,at least once in a while:-)

    atrm61

    September 22, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    • Good luck with your list pruning, Atreyee. I’m glad, in a way, I’m not the only one struggling with this. In a month’s time I hope we’re still reading each other and chatting away. 😉

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:24 pm

      • Hee! 😛 Yes,am sure there are many others :-)Of course we will cos we like each other and enjoy each other’s work:-)

        atrm61

        September 24, 2013 at 8:10 pm

  5. I know the feeling. Reading all those blogs and catching up with those who leave comments on my blog defeats sometimes yet I love the comments and feedback. I’m glad I found your blog. It looks interesting. I will attempt to keep up your posts. 🙂

    Suzanne

    February 7, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    • Thanks for popping by and commenting. It’s true that sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day. I’ve tried sleeping less, but it isn’t good for those around me. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      February 10, 2014 at 12:50 pm

  6. I follow, read and comment on blogs that grab me – and especially those who post comments on my blog. Mutual support and so forth. Quite often, I skip long posts – ones that take up more than 3 minutes of my reading time. This allows me to read more bloggers. I use this guideline – no more than 3 minutes read – when uploading my own posts.

    And you’re right, there just isn’t enough time.

    Eric Alagan

    July 14, 2017 at 12:53 am

    • I agree with the mutual support aspect, which is why it’s so annoying when you read and comment and don’t receive much in return.
      I scroll down a blog post before committing to read, and when it looks like it covers an A4 page, I give up.

      Sarah Ann

      July 14, 2017 at 8:30 pm


Leave a Reply

