Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 20/9/13 – The Seeker

with 33 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry. The Friday Fictioneers then post their stories.

Visit Rochelle’s site for more detail on how to join in. Read other stories inspired by the prompt by clicking on the blue guy.

 

Copyright - John Nixon

Copyright – John Nixon

 

 

The Seeker (100 words)

‘Morning, Miss Jackson.’

Dan watched the gnarled woman shuffle past.

‘She comes in same time every week,’ he scowled at his colleague. ‘Always leaves empty handed.’

‘She’s after a specific book.’

‘She tried Amazon?’

‘It isn’t listed. She checks every morning before methodically working all the charity and second-hand shops in town.’

‘What can be that special?’

‘A book her father appeared in. She remembers him being interviewed when she was little. It was donated accidentally years ago.’

‘She’ll never find it.’

‘Maybe not, but she’ll die looking.’

‘Not if we unearth it first,’ Dan said, heading for the bookcases.

 

Friday Fictioneers

Written by Sarah Ann

September 20, 2013 at 8:21 pm

33 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like how Dan’s attitude goes from grumpy to helpful based on his growing understanding! I do hope he finds the book.

    ladyharvey

    September 20, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    • I wasn’t sure that was going to happen. Dan was plain miserable for most of the drafts of this story, but I’m glad he cheered up in the end.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:41 pm

  2. Your ending took me by surprise, in a very good way! I was getting annoyed with the store owners for being so cold-hearted about poor Miss Jackson – and then they take the trouble to search for her book. Very sweet.

    newpillowbook

    September 21, 2013 at 12:36 am

    • Thank you. I’m glad the positive ending worked. The early versions were negative, but they didn’t have the right feel.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:42 pm

  3. That’s an interesting take. I’m always looking for certain books at thrift stores and library sales, but not something donated by someone I know, just books I want to have.

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    September 21, 2013 at 2:33 am

    • Unfortunately, this is based on fact. I gave a box of old novels that had been stored in my parents’ garage, unloved for years, to charity. It wasn’t until two days later that my dad told me that his dad had featured in one of the non-fiction books in the box. The charity shop staff were not as helpful as Dan turned out to be.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:45 pm

  4. That was so sweet S … wouldn’t it nice if there such caring souls out there 🙂
    Oh and you poem is up for 3 words (cough, conflict, control) 🙂 x

    ramblingsfromamum

    September 21, 2013 at 7:52 am

    • I forever live in hope for caring souls, and people doing each other favours or no reward. Apparently, I’m a bit touched. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:46 pm

  5. Lovely ending.

    🙂

    yarnspinnerr

    September 21, 2013 at 8:43 am

  6. That’s the spirit! I loved your ending. Big smile here because it was what I was thinking. I once looked for a quote for over thirty years before I finally found it again. (Thank goodness for Sergey Brin and Larry Page.)

    Aloha,

    Doug

    dmmacilroy

    September 21, 2013 at 10:10 am

    • 30 years and you were still looking? I think I might have given up. I haven’t looked for the book I lost (grandfather mentioned in a book about Welsh food producers/ see reply to Janet) but I did look on Amazon as soon as I got the idea for this story – in vain, but the thought is back in my head now, so maybe I’ll keep trying. I’m happy you liked the ending – it took ages to get there.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:51 pm

  7. Dear Sarah Ann,

    I searched for years for an old Brownie Scout handbook. I finally found one in a thrift store. Kudos to Dan for helping the old woman. Love your story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    September 21, 2013 at 10:13 am

    • I hope Dan and Miss. Jackson are as lucky in their searches. I enjoy rummaging through thrift stores, but living on a boat I have to restrain myself due to lack of space.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 8:10 pm

  8. That turned beautifully at the end. Well done – nicely constructed.

    Sandra

    September 21, 2013 at 10:25 am

    • Thank you for the compliment. I only wish I could say I had ‘constructed’ the story, instead of getting there by accident.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:56 pm

  9. Well done Sarah, lovely take on the prompt.

    summerstommy2

    September 21, 2013 at 11:06 am

  10. I love the change of heart. Nice moral here. The more we understand people, the more inclined we are to want to help them.

    rgayer55

    September 21, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    • So true – often our knee jerk reactions are tempered when we get to know people’s histories. Many thanks for the comment.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:57 pm

  11. Hi Sarah Ann,
    Our stories both revolve around long lost books, though the details are different. I really liked that Dan was so sympathetic to her search and wanted to help. Ron

    bridgesareforburning

    September 21, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    • Thank you, Ron. I felt your cahracter was going to make the most of his find. I’m still amazed that Dan turned out to be so sympathetic.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:59 pm

  12. I like the idea of finding the lost book, Sarah. I think it’s possible it can be found. Anything is possible. This is a sweet tale to see someone come to her aid.

    The Bumble Files

    September 21, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    • Anything is possible, so I might one day find the book I gave away by mistake. 🙂 Thanks for reading, Amy.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 8:00 pm

  13. It is amazing what I can find in used book stores or second hand shops. So I think the book will be found. Good story. 🙂

    JackieP

    September 21, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    • I’ve stopped going into second-hand book shops because there are just too many interesting things to read, learn, come away with….

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 8:02 pm

  14. aww great ending.. i like Dan 🙂

    kz

    September 22, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    • Thank you and, following everyone’s comments, I’m starting to see Dan in a new light.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 8:01 pm

  15. Dan sounds like a great man… and that book sounds like it needs to be found….

    Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    September 22, 2013 at 9:18 pm

    • I’m beginning to wonder whether Miss. Jackson would survive its finding very long. Is the search the reason she keeps on going? 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:54 pm

  16. Don’t we all need help every so often? I like your generous character!

    denmother

    September 22, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    • Aw, thank you. He didn’t start life as generous. I wonder who writes the stories sometimes. Maybe Dan doesn’t like mornings and needed to warm up a bit.

      Sarah Ann

      September 23, 2013 at 7:53 pm


Leave a Reply

