Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Ligo Haibun – Apathy

with 8 comments

This week’s Ligo Haibun challenge hosted by Pirate, Nightlake and by Penny suited me perfectly.

 

‘We have a couple of word prompts for you to try this week.

Apathy

or

Paradise

What does the word ‘paradise’ mean to you? Can you find it on earth?

Alternatively, share with us your idea of listlessness. Your own, imagined apathy or your ideas of it.’

 

The rules:

The haībun format is as follows:

A paragraph or more in prose (without metrical structure, such as poetry or verse) form

and

  • the haiku/collection of haiku related to the text to close. The haiku should be as authentic as possible, no syllable count, no capitals or full stop.
  • Each Challenge gives a choice of two prompt words, phrases, or photographs. Please choose one for your theme

 

(Read the other entries here.)

–––––

 

I have the whole day before me, alone. I have no appointments, the phone is off, the internet disconnected, there will be no distractions. The only sound is the distant rumble of planes heading in and out from the nearby runway. The ever-present thundering is comforting in its own way, until a bird banks overhead and, for an instant, I await the scream of unintended descent.

My desk is clear, I can choose my task. I have a manuscript to polish, short stories to edit, flash fiction to compose, and competitions to enter. There are ‘how to’ books on getting published to be read, and pages of downloaded advice that I need to peruse.

I have plenty to do, and want to do nothing. I’m not interested. Not today. I know I should, but there are other things to occupy me.

I have friends to email, but they’ve waited weeks for a reply so what’s another day? I have holiday photos to sort through, but will get lost in memories. I could go for a walk, but I want to stay warm.

I need to use the day profitably.  The pity is, I only feel like resting my head on the table.

 

when opportunity knocks

my soul is in the wrong place

and can’t be bothered

 

Ligo Hai badge

 

Written by Sarah Ann

September 19, 2013 at 11:02 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reflects the state of affairs for many people. so realistic. well written

    nightlake

    September 19, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    • Unfortunately, this is how I feel sometimes (hence the realistic feel maybe) but thankfully not too often. Spending the day looking through recipe books and cooking seems to shake it off.

      Sarah Ann

      September 19, 2013 at 2:25 pm

  2. I feel the mood. Perfectly expressed!

    readinpleasure

    September 19, 2013 at 3:22 pm

  3. It’s a very familiar feeling… captured! 🙂

    twoscamps

    September 19, 2013 at 5:19 pm

  4. Great. With your desk so tidy why mess it up?

    Peripatetic Eric

    September 19, 2013 at 11:44 pm


Leave a Reply

