Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Trifextra: Week 85 – Apostrophe – Missing You

with 19 comments

This week’s Trifextra challenge was a tough one, for me at least. My English education was more about composition than grammar.

 

This week we are taking you, once again, back to school for a lesson in literary devices.  Remember the apostrophe?  About.com defines apostrophe as, “A figure of speech in which some absent or nonexistent person or thing is addressed as if present and capable of understanding.”  That same site provides some excellent examples of apostrophes in classical literature. Check them out and then have a crack at it yourself.  Give us your best 33-word example of an apostrophe.
_____

Missing You (33 words)

I long to see your face again. I am lost without you, listless and uneasy. I yearn for your return so I may be comforted in your warm embrace. Please come back, Sun.

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

September 15, 2013 at 1:26 pm

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think I have your sun by me….not going anywhere. 🙂
    I liked this….

    Anja

    September 15, 2013 at 4:04 pm

  2. Sweet:-)Winter must be bad for you-here in India ,most of us(unless we live in extreme North)welcome winter:-)

    atrm61

    September 15, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    • Winters aren’t usually too bad. I was just feeling wimpy after too much blanket rain. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      September 16, 2013 at 8:43 pm

      • Lol!I can so relate!I love winter!

        atrm61

        September 19, 2013 at 3:44 pm

  3. Oh darkness on it’s way… yes I will miss the sun.

    Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    September 15, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    • You’ve made me feel even worse now. So much can hide in the darkness….

      Sarah Ann

      September 16, 2013 at 8:42 pm

  4. Even with all it’s excesses, I still miss it when it’s gone too long. Nice one!

    KymmInBarcelona

    September 15, 2013 at 10:30 pm

  5. Great title.. and we don’t know what you’re speaking of until the last word. Nicely done.

    Steph

    September 15, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    • I didn’t want it to be too obvious. Wasn’t sure if the apostrophe could be a person or had to relate to a thing, so I played it safe with the sun.

      Sarah Ann

      September 16, 2013 at 8:00 pm

  6. Please, take our sun. I think I’m ready for Autumn!
    Thank you for linking up!

    trifectawriting

    September 16, 2013 at 2:34 am

  7. I’ve lived in a hot/sunny place for over twenty-five years, so I love the clouds and rain. I imagine after a long, cold winter, the sun would be quite welcome, though!

    jannatwrites

    September 16, 2013 at 5:08 am

    • I love clouds and rain too, but we tend to get drenching grey which blots everything out. Grey murk gets me longing for the sun, even a weak one.

      Sarah Ann

      September 16, 2013 at 8:39 pm

  8. Very nice – I know the feeling well!

    Christine

    September 16, 2013 at 5:09 am

  9. We have Spring and no sun 😦 x

    ramblingsfromamum

    September 16, 2013 at 5:27 am

    • We’ve only had three days of grey and rain but I’m miserable already. You always have sun!

      Sarah Ann

      September 16, 2013 at 7:58 pm


Leave a Reply

