Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Ligo Haibun – 15/8/13 – The Kiss of Love

with 13 comments

This week’s Ligo Haibun Challenge offered two quotes to use as inspiration. I picked the easy one, so saying, I can’t help feeling my haiku needs a comma at the end of the first line.

 

“A kiss is a lovely trick by nature to stop speech when words become” superfluous.” – Ingrid Bergman

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.” – Marilyn Monroe

–––––

 

‘You’re wonderful.’

‘So are you.’

‘You’ve got the most gorgeous blue eyes. I want to swim in them.’

‘I love the way your button nose wrinkles when you smile.’

‘I love you.’

‘I love you.’

‘You’ve got –‘

‘Shut up and come here.’

 

‘You’re such an arsehole.’

‘Takes one to know one’

‘I hate you, I hate you, I hate you.’

‘Well that’s grown up.’

‘Why don’t you just fuck off and die.’

‘Because I wouldn’t be able to annoy you half as much.’

‘Why can’t you be nice?’

‘That wouldn’t be fun.’

‘Go away. Leave me alone.’

‘Come here. Give me a hug.’

‘That doesn’t make it better.’

‘It might.’

‘It won’t.’

‘It’s worth a try.’

 

 

the kiss of lust

when emotions turn to loathing

becomes the kiss of love

 

Ligo Hai badge

 

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

August 22, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Posted in Haibun

Tagged with , , , , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SCRUMPTIOUS ooer a swear word lol Loved this Sarah 🙂 not a comma but perhaps a ~ ?

    ramblingsfromamum

    August 23, 2013 at 4:02 am

    • Yes perhaps a ~ Sorry for swearing, but in the heat of the moment, I’d say that was mild 😉

      Sarah Ann

      August 23, 2013 at 7:55 pm

  2. This is so much fun and interesting. I’ve been there, I tell you 🙂

    readinpleasure

    August 23, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    • I can’t imagine relationships without arguments. If there’s never any hate, where’s the passion?

      Sarah Ann

      August 23, 2013 at 8:02 pm

  3. ha! now that makes for a fine dramatic moment 😆 encore!

    Sunshine

    August 23, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    • I’m not sure how to follow that. Maybe with a period of calm, sensible conversation?

      Sarah Ann

      August 23, 2013 at 8:05 pm

      • i see your Kiss of Love much like a scene either from a movie or closer, like one of those day time drama series. hard to tell in what direction the characters may take… does that make sense?
        – all in all, enjoyed your haibun. 🙂

        Sunshine

        August 24, 2013 at 12:00 pm

      • Yes, to making sense and seeing the haibun as a dramatic scene. I agree it’s hard to see what happens/ what the characters do next. Think I’ll leave to work it out.

        Sarah Ann

        August 25, 2013 at 4:26 pm

      • 🙂

        Sunshine

        August 26, 2013 at 12:57 pm

  4. This was enjoyable, an original approach but I enjoyed it. Well written haibun and closing haiku! 🙂

    Penny L Howe

    August 29, 2013 at 5:55 am

    • Thank you. The LH prompts either make complete sense, or stump me. This was a stumper, hence the dialogue.

      Sarah Ann

      September 1, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      • Hi Sarah Ann, Well you did very well. I understand and relate. I don’t always agree with the prompt choices myself, lol!

        Penny L Howe

        September 1, 2013 at 8:55 pm

  5. […] Ligo Haibun – 15/8/13 – The Kiss of Love (sarahannhall.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

