Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FiveSentenceFiction – Fabric – Woollen Inheritance

with 6 comments

Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week Lillie McFerrin posts a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate writes a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week: FABRIC

–––––

Woollen Inheritance

The blankets sit in the loft atop a pile of boxes, wrapped in plastic. Once a year, in summer, I take them out, check for moth, air them. I touch the soft green hexagons to my cheek, run my fingers over the rough grey hatching, then re-wrap.

My grandmother was given the blankets on her wedding day and kept them for best; she passed them to my parents when they married, who kept them for best.

One day I will liberate them from my mother’s house: when I am married, when I have children, when my mother dies, they will cover my beds and be used, they will wear and live and be loved.

 

 

Lillie McFerrin Writes
Written by Sarah Ann

August 20, 2013 at 8:21 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this is stunning Sarah x

    ramblingsfromamum

    August 22, 2013 at 10:47 am

  2. Lovely. How silly we are to hide the ‘good stuff’ away under lock and key. I’m with you liberate the lot! great little story!

    ahblack57

    August 22, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    • 🙂 If no one uses the stuff, it’ll probably only be chucked out in the end.

      Sarah Ann

      August 22, 2013 at 5:39 pm

  3. I like that word ‘liberate’ you used in the context of hand-me-downs. Quite novel, I reckon.

    Eric Alagan

    June 19, 2017 at 1:15 pm


Leave a Reply

