Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Ligo Haibun – 10/8/13 – photo prompt

with 11 comments

Pirate wants us to personalise. I’ve been away so want to include something of that. And this week’s Ligo Haibun Challenge presents me with two photos that I stare and stare at without coming up with much. After a while, this photo reminded me of Lerderderg Gorge, which I visited on my travels.

 

3025789_orig - Copy

 

  • ·  Haibun is a piece of prose and at least one haiku
  • ·  the haiku should have no syllable count, no capitals or full stop
  • ·  each week, at the Ligo Haibun Challenge there is a choice of two prompt words or phrases, or two visuals. Please choose one for your theme
  • ·  wear the Ligo badge below with pride on your blog! And pin the Circle of Appreciation to your blog  if your haibun is one of the monthly  Honourable Mentions in Dispatches
  • ·  enter your haibun in the inlinkz link
  • ·  Haibun relate to a journey, whether the travels are exploration or  internal

–––––

Light glitters from the river’s surface, rippled by breeze. An exotic bush quivers; a blue wren escapes capture by camera. The sky is blue, the sun high, but the air is cold. A southern hemisphere winter is beautiful when compared to her grey, opaque northern sister.

The sliver of water tumbles over stones, trapped on either side by rock. The land was pushed and squeezed during its formation; the river has cut its way, seemingly with ease. If only it could be the same with immovable people. If I am the water, I have hit a dam.

 

walking a tightrope

between lover and parents

relief comes once home

Ligo Hai badge

Written by Sarah Ann

August 14, 2013 at 9:53 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This I understand – the Southern Winter..the relationships in the Haiku – nicely done sweet. You took me there.

    ramblingsfromamum

    August 15, 2013 at 6:39 am

  2. i like your imagery on the two seasonal time differences, you being water and blocked by a dam with parental standstill moments in your haiku. your haibun flows! ♥

    Sunshine

    August 15, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    • It’ good to know my writing flows, even when my emotions are a little knotted. Thank you.

      Sarah Ann

      August 15, 2013 at 8:08 pm

  3. Your haibun is excellent and a pleasure to read. A blend of emotions slides through your descriptive and expressive words. Your haiku in harmony with the emotional message! Well executed. Well done.

    Penny L Howe

    August 16, 2013 at 3:11 am

    • Thank you, Penny. Your comments always give me a boost – they are so expressive, showing me a different way to look at my writing. You see more in it than I am ever able to.

      Sarah Ann

      August 19, 2013 at 7:44 pm

      • Some people write from a deep place inside themselves, Sarah Ann and it shows. You’re one of them (I refer to a natural talent here!).

        Penny L Howe

        August 19, 2013 at 9:35 pm

  4. The external conditions made to reflect the inner conflict. Wonderful. 🙂

    yarnspinnerr

    August 16, 2013 at 7:37 am

    • Thank you for another comment that has helped me see more in my writing than I ever did. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      August 18, 2013 at 8:05 pm

  5. I can so relate to everything in your haibun. Took me a while to find that balance. But home… that is one place to find relief.

    julespaige

    August 16, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    • Thanks for the comment Jules. I’m glad it resonated and it’s good when home does provide relief and safety and not more problems!

      Sarah Ann

      August 18, 2013 at 7:59 pm


Leave a Reply

