Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Trifecta: Week 90 – Grasp – Futile Regret

with 16 comments

 

I’ve spent three weeks without reading or completing a flash fiction challenge. Now I’m back online I must stop them taking over my life again…

This week’s one-word prompt from Trifecta is:

 

1: to take or seize eagerly

2: to clasp or embrace especially with the fingers or arms

3: to lay hold of with the mind : comprehend

 

The rules:

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone. Please join us.

This week’s challenge is community judged.

  • For the 14 hours following the close of the challenge, voting will be enabled on links.
  • In order to vote, return to this post where stars will appear next to each link. To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite post.
  • You can vote for your top three favorite posts.
  • Voting is open to everyone.
  • You have 14 hours to vote. It’s not much time, so be diligent!

–––––

 

Futile Regret (33 words)

I didn’t grasp the full ramifications until later.

One wrong turn, a two-hour delay, and I didn’t see my brother marry my best friend.

If only I’d been able to speak out.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

August 13, 2013 at 6:06 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well now, that certainly is a lot of story in a mere 33 words now, isn’t it?! Brilliant, tight, concise storytelling! Very well done!

    • Thank you, Tom. I’m going to try to stick to 33-words for the week and weekend challenges. I’m sure I’ll fail as I found grasp to be an easier than usual word to work with.

      Sarah Ann

      August 14, 2013 at 8:49 pm

  2. now you have left me wondering the gender of the best friend.. amazing how we look at our posts after a break isn’t 🙂 xx

    ramblingsfromamum

    August 14, 2013 at 8:01 am

    • And you’ve left me wondering – It was clear in my head when I wrote it.
      The break has been good – I need to prioritise, stick to the lits of jobs I write, not go off at a tangent for hours on end…. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      August 14, 2013 at 8:51 pm

  3. I could put several interpretations on this. Delicious.

    Clare Flourish

    August 14, 2013 at 9:24 am

    • Thanks. I’m glad you can see different interpretations as there are many scenarios playing out in my head as to what might have gone right or wrong.

      Sarah Ann

      August 14, 2013 at 9:15 pm

  4. This really is full of intriguing possibilities; well done!

    Annabelle

    August 15, 2013 at 12:06 am

  5. Nicely done! I’m reminded of Hemingway’s famous six-word story. It’s a real skill to be able to put a twist, a surprise, in such a small number of words. Well done. Thanks for linking up. Don’t forget to come back and vote at the end of the challenge.

    trifectawriting

    August 15, 2013 at 1:36 am

    • Thanks for the great comment. How is it I can’t remember Hemingways’ six words?

      Sarah Ann

      August 15, 2013 at 8:06 pm

  6. I’m glad you’re back, Sarah! I like this – the last line really makes me wonder what she had to say 🙂

    jannatwrites

    August 15, 2013 at 6:34 am

    • Hi Janna, I too wonder what she could have said to make a difference. And if she had spoken out, what then?

      Sarah Ann

      August 15, 2013 at 7:56 pm

  7. Love the way you’ve told a story in 33 words. Well done!

    Suzanne

    August 16, 2013 at 1:38 am

  8. So much in these few words. It’s amazing how much story you can fit into such a little bit.

    Draug419

    August 16, 2013 at 2:41 am

  9. Oh! Fantastic! That last line threw me for a loop – what a great twist!

    Christine

    August 16, 2013 at 5:08 am


Leave a Reply

