Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FiveSentenceFiction – Locked

with 4 comments

Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week Lillie McFerrin posts a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate writes a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week: LOCKED

–––––

It’s dark and cool in here and I’m protected from the searing heat. I’ve been inside so long that if I step outside I’m likely to burn, even with factor 50; my skin will blister and I’ll need calamine lotion and salt baths for a week. I know I am held here, locked in, for my own good, and that my parents are trying to protect me, help me like they always have, but I would still like the choice.

It hasn’t always been like this: my life used to be carefree; there were clouds and rain that I was able to dance in. Now though, whenever I suggest going into the open air I hear the same refrain, ‘Once your exams are done. Now get back to your revision.’

 

 

Lillie McFerrin Writes
Written by Sarah Ann

July 16, 2013 at 7:33 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was something of something far more drastic! Nicely-done!

    Gabriella

    July 16, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    • Thank you. I tried to set it up as some post-apocalyptic/ solar-flare uv-nightmare scenario, so I’m glad you got the more drastic feel. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      July 17, 2013 at 8:45 pm

  2. Like the surprise ending!

    Patricia

    July 16, 2013 at 9:08 pm


Leave a Reply

