Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Trifextra: Week 76 – writing, in three words

with 20 comments

I think Trifecta are playing with us this weekend.

This weekend, we’re asking for you to sum up your own process with just three little words.  Give us dry wit, pathos or otherwise.  And remember, we like your blood on the page.  Put it there.

–––––

The first thing that sprang to mind was ever so obvious – Write. Write. Write.

A little more thought produced something slightly more boring – Write. Read. Edit.

The mechanics of the actions add-up to more than three words – Scribble. Cross-out. Re-write.

So I tried a little harder still and arrived at:

 

Imagine. Rehearse. Perform.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

July 13, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Posted in Trifecta/ Trifextra

Tagged with , ,

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well said! Bravo!

    McGuffy Ann

    July 13, 2013 at 6:58 pm

  2. Love it! Probably the closest in spirit to what I do too :)))

    • After moving from the obvious I tried to think what I do do. Ideas normally come before sleep so I lie there and run through stories in my head (the imagination and rehearsal), just hoping they’re still there in the morning (to perform).

      Sarah Ann

      July 13, 2013 at 8:10 pm

  3. Thanks for sharing the process. Nice and a combination that makes me think of a playwright. My first impulse was to suggest adjectives but it didn’t sound right so I switched to a phrase.

    Gabriella

    July 13, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    • Thanks for your comment. I can see how those three words could provoke thoughts of playwriting, but that’s a whole discipline I know nothing about. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      July 15, 2013 at 11:12 pm

  4. hey, you got there. lol Cool.

    LaTonya M. Baldwin

    July 13, 2013 at 9:21 pm

  5. imagination is a key 🙂

    barbara

    July 14, 2013 at 4:58 am

  6. Nice selection here.

    Draug419

    July 14, 2013 at 5:05 am

  7. A great choice for your three words. And I like that you showed the mental journey that brought you to them. 🙂

    lovethebadguy

    July 14, 2013 at 12:57 pm

  8. Very good words!

    deanabo

    July 14, 2013 at 3:56 pm

  9. I like the words you chose, but I liked the explanation of how you arrived there even more – from your obvious choices to the more creative.

    jannatwrites

    July 15, 2013 at 4:50 am

    • Thanks Janna. Explaining the process was helpful in getting to those last three words.
      (By the by, I’m behind on my reading. Hope to catch up with Darlene this week.)

      Sarah Ann

      July 15, 2013 at 11:08 pm

  10. Good one. Liked the process, too!

    KymmInBarcelona

    July 15, 2013 at 9:52 am


Leave a Reply

