Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 12/7/13 – Call Me Billy

with 33 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry. The Friday Fictioneers then post their stories.

Visit Rochelle’s site for more details of how to join in, and read other stories inspired by the prompt by clicking on the blue guy.


I’ve struggled with this story for the last couple of days and I’m still not happy with it. I left it alone and tried to think of something else, but this is all I’ve managed. Thanks Randy for the photo.

 

goats_and_graves_3_randy_mazie

copyright Randy Maize

 

Call Me Billy (100 words)

I don’t usually hide in graveyards, but it’s safe and I won’t be seen. It’s very quiet being surrounded by the forgotten. There are no fresh bouquets. Maybe I should adopt a grave and bring flowers. The lush grass would provide an ample diet for a growing goat.

This is such an over-reaction. If I hadn’t been trying to make our anniversary perfect, I’d’ve noticed my enchantress’s new hairstyle. Honestly, she is so tetchy. She normally reserves this treatment for the indiscreet. But now, instead of putting champagne on ice, I’m lying low waiting for her spell to wear off.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

July 12, 2013 at 8:36 pm

33 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Sarah,

    It’s probably a good thing she didn’t ask, “Does this dress make me look fat?” The spell might never have worn off. 😉

    Cute,

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    July 12, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    • Hi Rochelle, I think he’d know how to answer that quesiton correctly!
      When I put the idea for my story to hubby, he suggested that the wife was in one of the graves so the spell couldn’t wear off. Poor Billy.

      Sarah Ann

      July 13, 2013 at 3:15 pm

  2. I am sure your poor narrator wishes he could travel back in time, notice the new hairstyle and celebrate. At the same time, she could have noticed the celebration effort instead of being vexed. Nice and original variation!

    Gabriella

    July 12, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    • Thanks Gabriella. I tried to think of something more deep and meaningful to write from the prompt, but failed. Hopefully the spell will wear off soon enough for them to do some celebrating together. Or she might take pity on him when she notices his efforts.

      Sarah Ann

      July 13, 2013 at 3:18 pm

  3. Now this was cute. I can just see her getting miffed and then ‘poof’! 🙂

    JackieP

    July 12, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    • Thanks Jackie. I wasn’t sure it worked, but your comment has help me to see her too.

      Sarah Ann

      July 13, 2013 at 3:39 pm

  4. Hi Sarah,
    As a relationship survivor, I can attest to the fact that you never want to overlook a new hairdo. I think you developed some good internalized characterization. Ron

    bridgesareforburning

    July 13, 2013 at 12:58 am

    • Hi Ron,
      Many thanks for your comment. I’m glad you could relate, in some ways, to Billy’s dilemma.

      Sarah Ann

      July 13, 2013 at 7:10 pm

  5. I’m terrible at noticing new hairstyles so I’m glad I don’t know any enchantresses. 🙂

    David Stewart

    July 13, 2013 at 7:46 am

  6. Dear Sarah,

    I’m commenting on this story in case you are ‘tetchy’. Loved it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    dmmacilroy

    July 13, 2013 at 10:14 am

    • Many thanks, Doug. No, not tetchy today. If only we had those sorts of powers, but I wonder if we’d be any more observant or careful.

      Sarah Ann

      July 13, 2013 at 7:05 pm

  7. Sorry I gave you “odgeda” (indigestion) from this picture. I guess you could say it got your goat. But, from what I read the spell will wear off quickly, you will comment positively on the hairstyle, and say a few kind remarksd about your visit to the graveyard. Randy

    The Writers Village

    July 13, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    • No indigestion, just a slow-brain day. Yes, the spell will wear off, hopefully in time for him to make amends, although he does make for a quite a cute goat.

      Sarah Ann

      July 13, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  8. By the end of the first paragraph, I was wondering how and why a goat would think of bringing flowers – but you certainly answered that question in the second half of the story! Well written.

    newpillowbook

    July 13, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    • Thank you Sharon. As I was writing I wondered if there were enough clues without the whole being too obvious. Glad it worked for you.

      Sarah Ann

      July 15, 2013 at 11:14 pm

  9. Sarah, I enjoyed your story. I hope someone brings some tasty flowers soon and that the spell isn’t a long-lasting one.

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    July 14, 2013 at 2:06 am

    • I had a line in one draft about the variety of flower flavours. I’m left wondering what a goat would like best… 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      July 15, 2013 at 11:21 pm

  10. Good story. It’s the second I’ve read where the goat was actually a human under a spell from a woman – the other was the woman in the grave next to the Billy!

    annisik51

    July 14, 2013 at 6:16 am

  11. Never mess with a witch! It never works out. Nice voice in this Sarah Ann. 🙂

    Sandra

    July 14, 2013 at 12:17 pm

  12. haha cute story 🙂 now he’s learned his lesson ^^

    kz

    July 15, 2013 at 12:03 pm

  13. Glad it’s not permanent!

    misskzebra

    July 15, 2013 at 2:53 pm

  14. I love the “adopt a grave” idea. I’m a member of a local cemetery board 🙂 Tetchy was a new word for me–I always love that. Fun story, Sarah Ann.

    rgayer55

    July 15, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    • We have been walking through our local graveyard recently (it’s the route from the boat to the village) and considering how much people invest in stones and having a marker, but so often they become abandoned as family move away or later generations just don’t have any knowledge of their ancestors. Good luck with promoting your ‘adopt a grave’ campaign. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      July 15, 2013 at 11:19 pm

  15. Nicely done!

    Sandra

    July 15, 2013 at 10:21 pm

  16. I read tetchy as techy but got straightened out after a re-read of the entrantress part. 🙂
    I did mean APF…F for fiction… here our service folks addresses when out of town start with APO.
    I’ve got you book marked in my Flash Fiction writers section. 🙂

    julespaige

    July 16, 2013 at 9:30 pm

  17. A graveyard is a great place to lie low indeed. I hope it doesn’t take too long for the spell to wear off though! Good story! 😀

    Linda Vernon

    July 17, 2013 at 3:03 am

    • Thanks Linda. I think the spell will have worn off just in time for him to take her out to dinner.

      Sarah Ann

      July 17, 2013 at 8:39 pm

  18. Great story… and right tone… love it.


Leave a Reply

