Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Trifextra: 75 – 33-word free-write

with 28 comments

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve struggled with Trifextra and Trifecta prompts (and I’m behind on my reading). I looked at this weekend’s prompt and thought I’d fail again, but then British Summer arrived and gave me something to work with.

 

Last weekend we gave you a super prescriptive prompt.  We also promised you we’d ease up this week.  As such, this weekend we are asking for a thirty-three word free-write.  Any topic, any style–just give us your best thirty three.

 

This weekend’s challenge is community judged.
  • For the 14 hours following the close of the challenge, voting will be enabled on links.  
  • In order to vote, return to this post where stars will appear next to each link.  To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite post.
  • You can vote for your top three favorite posts.
  • Voting is open to everyone.
–––––

 

Summer Insomnia (33 words)

Hellish flames tickle my feet. Ants encircle my ankles, climb calves, nestle behind knees. Fingers tingle and twitch. Thoughts infiltrate and attack my brain. The duvet covers the floor.

Later I wake, cold.

 

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

July 7, 2013 at 8:22 pm

28 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, I know this feeling! It happens almost every night this time of year.

    Christine

    July 7, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    • Thankfully more recent nights have been less hideous. Or I’ve been too exhausted to notice if they weren’t. Thanks for reading.

      Sarah Ann

      July 9, 2013 at 9:00 pm

  2. I grew up in New Mexico and learned to despise those damn fire ants. I’m a lot less tolerant of heat now than I was in those days of youth. Now I sit inside with the swamp cooler going and wish for fall. Back then I would walk around the yard in 120 degree heat, loving everything but the fire ants and the giant cockroaches, although one wouldn’t see the roaches during the day.
    Those Trifectas can be challenging. One of the team at Undead in the Netherworld usually picks up the slack. I do sometimes, but generally I run away like a coward.

    The Real Cie

    July 7, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    • Thankfully mine weren’t real ants, just the itching that comes with them. There are definite benefits to living in the UK where the summers are short, often quite wet, and the insects mostly harmless.

      Sarah Ann

      July 9, 2013 at 10:19 pm

  3. Nightmarish and well described…

  4. I live in Alaska – and often (yes, even here) will toss blankets and duvet to the floor. Thank the Good Lord we do not have fire ants or cockroaches . . . . well described misery here.

    barbara

    July 7, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    • I’m very thankful the UK doesn’t have the heat for fire-ants or too many cockroaches. Thanks for reading.

      Sarah Ann

      July 9, 2013 at 10:21 pm

  5. Yikes. Sounds similar to summer here in Ottawa! Great use of imagery!

    Suzanne

    July 7, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    • Thanks. More’s the pity, every season has its downsides. I’m making sure I enjoy the daylight hours.

      Sarah Ann

      July 9, 2013 at 10:25 pm

  6. What a perfect description of hot summer nights! Beautifully done!

    kallanannie

    July 7, 2013 at 9:56 pm

  7. No wonder you have insomnia. You have perfectly described all the worst possible sleeping conditions. Great writing.

    Lumdog

    July 7, 2013 at 10:10 pm

  8. Nightmarish is the word that came to my mind too. Beautiful writing – particularly like the wonderful alliteration (climb caves, nestle behind knees, etc…) Well done! :))

    • Thanks for commenting and pointing out the alliteration – it wasn’t deliberate. Happy you liked it.

      Sarah Ann

      July 9, 2013 at 10:10 pm

  9. Wen the bugs start crawling, my skin starts crawling and then, it is game over! Nothing good comes from that situation which you have described so brilliantly. Well done.

    Cobbie's World

    July 8, 2013 at 12:58 am

    • Thankfully something did come of all the tossing and turning. As my brain wouldn’t shut down, I worked on a number of flash challenges. Now all I have to do is remember what I thought, do some typing, and post. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      July 9, 2013 at 10:17 pm

  10. Ooo I could feel my skin creep!

    Draug419

    July 8, 2013 at 2:19 am

  11. We’re glad to see you’re getting back into the Trifecta groove, and into more writing in general. This is a great piece. It’s as if you were never in a writing slump!

    Thanks for linking up. Please remember to return for the voting!

    trifectawriting

    July 8, 2013 at 4:57 am

    • Thank you. Time has been running away from me. At least that’s my excuse for not meeting your deadlines. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      July 9, 2013 at 10:12 pm

  12. Well done! Insomnia reigns supreme in the face of these real or imagined nightmares. I am intimately familiar with kicking off the covers and later needing to retrieve them as dawn approaches. I loved this piece!

  13. An experience that everyone shall relate to. Clapping.

    🙂

    yarnspinnerr

    July 8, 2013 at 4:49 pm

  14. I think, under those circumstances, insomnia is the only wise choice.
    Here’s hoping the summer gets better!

    KymmInBarcelona

    July 8, 2013 at 10:59 pm

    • Things have improved! The days are lovely – we have to make the most of them in the UK as two sunny days in a row have been rare of late – and the nights have been cooler thankfully. Thanks for reading.

      Sarah Ann

      July 9, 2013 at 10:15 pm


Leave a Reply

