Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Ligo Haibun Challenge – The Sun

with 22 comments

I did it again. My insomniac brain came up with the perfect haiku and idea for this week’s Ligo Haibun Challenge, only for my waking mind to lose it. I have searched the recesses and niches of my skull. I’ve stared at an empty sheet of paper, pen ready in hand. Neither worked, so I’ve had to come up with something new, which is much shorter than, and not at all, what I’d intended to write.

 

This week’s prompts were:  The Sun or Childhood Memory of Summer Camps

 

The rules:

  • The haiku/collection of haiku related to the text to close. The haiku should be as authentic as possible, with no syllable count, no capitals or full stop, all ideally making 220 word max.
  • Wear the Ligo badge to the right with pride on your blog! And pin the Circle of Appreciation to your blog if you haibun is selected as an honourable mention!
  • Prizes are given on special occasions

–––––

From Futility by Wilfred Owen (1918)

Move him into the sun –

Gently its touch awoke him once,

At home, whispering of fields unsown.

Always it woke him, even in France,

Until this morning and this snow.

If anything might rouse him now

The kind old sun will know.

–––––

When the sun disappears in winter, nature mourns. The world becomes grey and flat. Trees shed their leaves; animals scurry into hollows; humans wrap up, hiding their form and faces.

When the sun appears in spring, nature dances and the world is full of colour and scent. Trees sprout buds; animals produce offspring; humans strip off, bare their flesh and smile.

 

life promoting sun

stimulates and nourishes

death rules without her

ligo-challenge_logo

Written by Sarah Ann

June 20, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Posted in Haibun

Tagged with , , ,

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Re: your introduction of what you initially thought (dreamed of) planned to write, I hate when that happens myself, lol. This haibun works beautifully however, and the closing haiku is perfectly reflective of your written prose. Thank you for entering Sarah Ann! 🙂

    Penny L Howe

    June 20, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    • Thanks Penny. I’m glad the haiburn works. I’m enjoying writing them.
      Re: the intro, I have got a notebook and pen at the end of my bed, but didn’t dare wake up hubby again with my scribbling. Next time, who knows?

      Sarah Ann

      June 21, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      • Congrat’s Sarah Ann, on being an honorable mention! Awww, wake him up, next time (no wait, don’t say I said that, lol) I do understand! 🙂

        Penny L Howe

        June 22, 2013 at 4:37 am

      • 🙂 He doesn’t read my blog so we’re quite safe talking about him.

        Sarah Ann

        June 24, 2013 at 7:47 pm

      • 🙂 his loss! 🙂

        Penny L Howe

        June 24, 2013 at 11:06 pm

  2. Beautifully done with lovely imagery

    readinpleasure

    June 20, 2013 at 5:52 pm

  3. This is so powerful. I think sometimes the haibun are too long, so think accordingly this is well-dosed, and the relationship between the prose and haiku is extraordinary. Very nice indeed!

    lepirategunn

    June 20, 2013 at 7:05 pm

  4. Creative thinking and a very strong haiku. Lovely, Sarah Ann:) Thank you for taking part

    nightlake

    June 21, 2013 at 1:05 am

    • I’m happy you found it creative. I was struggling to come up with something once I lost my original idea. And thank you for hosting. I’m enjoying the challenge of combining poetry and prose.

      Sarah Ann

      June 21, 2013 at 8:30 pm

      • Thank you, Sarah. We are hosting it and also learning from all of you on how to write good haibun. Yours was original.

        nightlake

        June 22, 2013 at 6:31 am

  5. this is beautiful. i’m glad i got to read it in the morning, made me appreciate the sun shining today. i’ll be carrying the positive vibes for the rest of the day. ^^

    kz

    June 21, 2013 at 3:59 am

    • Oh kz, thanks for making me smile. That is such a great comment. I’m glad it started off your day well and hope it continued positively. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      June 21, 2013 at 8:35 pm

  6. Beautiful and great imagery 🙂

    Yoshiko

    June 21, 2013 at 10:09 am

  7. […] originality and description jules – in flashy fiction for the unique historical approach Sarah Ann Hall for the clarity of thought Kir – the kir corner for a nice moment in […]

  8. […] Sarah Ann Hall: It is not just the humans, but the nature and animals too long for the sun. Don’t miss Sarah Ann’s powerful haibun on sun. […]


Leave a Reply

