Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Five Sentence Fiction – Home

with 6 comments

Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week Lillie McFerrin posts a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate writes a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week: HOME

–––––

 

Every time I return I am greeted by the same dark oak panelled door, scarred and bruised with age, its varnish always shining, its brass knocker bright – sturdy, safe, welcoming. The door warped the year my parents moved here: it has sat twisted in its frame ever since and, when the wind howls past in winter, they hang a heavy curtain.

The door opens on the tang of cloves and the sweetness of stewing apple: later I will bite through the crisp crunch of short crust and narrowly miss burning my tongue on the thick pulp of scented Bramleys – it’s always the same with never any variation in quality or flavour.

And so to bed, my palm feeling for the groove of the banister where every hand holds to turn the corner, and two steps later the squeak that no amount of nails can silence.

What will I do when they and it are gone?

 

Lillie McFerrin Writes
Written by Sarah Ann

June 18, 2013 at 8:30 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This reminds me of the scents and sounds of my grandmother’s old home. Very nice.

    K R Smith

    June 19, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    • Glad you liked it. The apple pie was my nan’s. My aunt could make it almost exactly the same way, but no one else.

      Sarah Ann

      June 19, 2013 at 8:13 pm

  2. Nice descriptions…enjoyed it!

    Donna McNicol

    June 20, 2013 at 5:54 am

  3. Oh, makes me want to visit that home 🙂

    Abraham

    June 20, 2013 at 10:51 am


Leave a Reply

