Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 14/6/13 – Missing Musicians Mystery Solved

with 30 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry. Every Friday (or before) the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word stories.

Visit Rochelle’s site for how to join in and read the other stories by clicking on the blue guy.


 

I feel a bit like the White Rabbit this week, ‘I’m late, I’m late…’ as the week has turned topsy-turvy. If my piece has the feel of an under-pressure-copywriter to it, all to the good. As I post, it’s still Friday in Honolulu.

 

Copyright -John Nixon

Copyright –John Nixon

 

Missing Musicians Mystery Solved (100 words)

The pianos that have been popping up on street corners are not the gift of a benign benefactor aimed at promoting street entertainment. Neither are they part of the council’s public art project.

Initial reports of people disappearing after striking the keys were dismissed as drunken ramblings. However, constant observation has suggested these old-style keyboards could present a menace.

Competent pianists are completely safe. Indeed, the pianos seem to glow in their presence. Children bashing away enthusiastically have been spared, mostly. But partygoers take note: anyone attempting a rendition of Chopsticks should expect to be swallowed by the machine.

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

June 15, 2013 at 10:02 am

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha. And so they should

    myothervoices

    June 15, 2013 at 11:46 am

    • You’re not a fan then?

      Sarah Ann

      June 18, 2013 at 8:47 pm

      • Well, i suppose it’s better than the moonlight sonata

        myothervoices

        June 19, 2013 at 7:56 am

      • Chopsticks better than the Moonlight Sonata? Sorry, can’t agree with you there, but then I never learnt how to play Chopsticks whereas I practised the sonata, a lot.

        Sarah Ann

        June 19, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  2. The voice in this has just the right note of detached bureacracy! Well done.

    Sandra

    June 15, 2013 at 12:48 pm

  3. specially the partygoers type 😉

    yarnspinnerr

    June 15, 2013 at 12:54 pm

  4. Why do I want to hear this narrated by John Cleese? This was perfect, darling!

    Helena Hann-Basquiat

    June 15, 2013 at 2:00 pm

  5. haha! I better stay away then. Chomp! 😉

    JackieP

    June 15, 2013 at 3:52 pm

  6. 🙂 Made it!! And as for being late, you’re only late if you get in once submissions have been closed!!

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    June 15, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    • Point taken. I’m just glad your time’s behind ours. Thanks for reading. 🙂 I could say my time is better organised this week, but as I’m replying to comments Tues eve, that might seem a bit of a fib.

      Sarah Ann

      June 18, 2013 at 8:54 pm

  7. Very inventive. I like the journalistic tone. Good juxtaposition.

    tonyroberts64

    June 16, 2013 at 12:21 am

  8. Oh, haha! I would be chomped for sure. I always wished I knew how to play the piano. This has a journalistic reporting quality to it! Well done, Sarah.

    The Bumble Files

    June 16, 2013 at 3:46 am

    • It’s never too late to learn! I recently bought a piano 20 years after leaving mine with my parents – too much practise these days and my fingers ache, which is weird

      Sarah Ann

      June 18, 2013 at 8:57 pm

      • Oh, that’s great you picked it up. I think that’s wonderful!! Maybe….but I don’t have a piano! My parents had one and had hoped that someone would take lessons, but no one ever did. I blew my chance. I guess you can always get a keyboard to start. Good luck with it, Sarah!

        The Bumble Files

        June 18, 2013 at 9:05 pm

  9. I giggled! And thanks for the tip. I’ll make sure only to photograph pianos in future 🙂
    http://gbg365.thesupercargo.com/ballad-of-the-sad-piano/

    thesupercargo

    June 16, 2013 at 7:21 am

    • Giggling is good. Thanks for the link – that’s one piano in need to a lot of love. Thanks for the great prompt this week.

      Sarah Ann

      June 18, 2013 at 8:58 pm

  10. Please let them swallow anyone that try to play “Für Elise” as well… a great story

    • Uh-oh, I can see a list of least popular tunes growing. You never know, once all the Chopsticks players have gone, the Für Elise ones might be next.

      Sarah Ann

      June 18, 2013 at 8:59 pm

  11. Dear Sarah,

    As Janet said, you’re not late until Tuesday evening (Central USA time) when submission closes. Happy to read your story. It made me smile. An argument against the overplayed Chopsticks. Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    June 16, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    • Thanks Rochelle, I’m very happy you enjoyed it. Trying to be more organised this week – we’ll see.

      Sarah Ann

      June 18, 2013 at 9:00 pm

  12. lol great take on the prompt ^^ and
    i like the style that you used in presenting the story.

    kz

    June 17, 2013 at 5:56 am

    • Thanks kz. I’m glad you liked the style. I like to try different approaches in an attempt to keep improving.

      Sarah Ann

      June 18, 2013 at 9:01 pm

  13. An instrument that is also a critic is a dangerous thing. Not a bad idea though… 🙂

    David Stewart

    June 17, 2013 at 10:55 am

    • You’ve got me thinking now – violins that strangle, guitars that take the tips off fingers…?

      Sarah Ann

      June 18, 2013 at 8:49 pm

  14. Very good – discerning pianos – I like it. I hope the one at my local isn’t one of these or we’re all in trouble 🙂

    elappleby

    June 17, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    • I’m sure the locals would be discerning enough without the need for the piano to be as well 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Sarah Ann

      June 18, 2013 at 9:03 pm


Leave a Reply

