Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Ligo Haibun Challenge – 1/6/13

with 2 comments

I’ve got to sort my timings out! The Ligo Haibun Challenge sits in my head at the weekend, which means I forget about it during the week and miss linking up. Last week’s prompts were:

 

Today – Ten Years Ago

or

Dewdrops

IMGP5344

 

I decided to go for Dewdrops, and the May Day tradition of washing in dew to ensure a perfect complexion for the rest of the year. Waiting to get to sleep on Thursday night I came up with the perfect haiku, which I haven’t been able to remember since.

Thursday wait for sleep

I concoct perfect haiku

lost in waking hours

–––––

 

 

 

Returning to dew washing, the belief was that the dew on May Day contained magical properties that could remove spots and blemishes, prevent headaches, or remove bunions. In Ireland, women would collect the dew of April, May and June and bottle it to use throughout the year.

 

 

young girl scoops up dew

washes in nature’s bounty

wives’ tale keeps her young

 

 

ligo-challenge_logo

Written by Sarah Ann

June 8, 2013 at 8:59 am

Posted in Haibun

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The second one was beautiful, Sarah:)

    nightlake

    June 8, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    • Thank you. I think it’s probably better than the one I can’t remember so that’s good.

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 7:33 pm


Leave a Reply

