Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 7/6/13 – A young Hirst?

with 30 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry. Every Friday (or before) the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word stories.

Visit Rochelle’s site for how to join in and read the other stories by clicking on the blue guy.


 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Copyright – EL Appleby

 

A Young Hirst? (100 words)

It was the film about the bloke and the fava beans got me started. That and the local art exhibition. Anything you can do, and all that.

I couldn’t go round chopping up humans, and hey, it’d been done before. I stuck to vermin. Cute little baby rats – their bites pinched less – and the odd cat that strayed into the garden. Pop went the rifle, out came the knife.

Internet-taught taxidermy isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. The stench coming from our shed that summer was awful. But the neighbours thanked me, inadvertently, for the reduction in ransacked bins.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

June 7, 2013 at 8:01 pm

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my. In summer time? whew that did have to stink. Truly horror.

    JackieP

    June 7, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    • 🙂 I think he’s probably an all-year animal catcher and the summer stench is a unfortunate consequence.

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 7:37 pm

  2. Yikes, I don’t know whether to be impressed or freaked out by your narrator here. Great writing and good job keeping it in the 100 word range. I had a bit of trouble with that part myself.

    jenniesisler

    June 7, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    • I think freaked out would be my response. Although having tried to watch a taxidermy video, maybe impressed as well. I’ve found sticking to the 100-words gets easier with practise.

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 8:09 pm

  3. Whew! What a wild tale this prompt inspired. That film with the bloke and fava beans does it every time. I like where you took this. Great one!

    The Bumble Files

    June 7, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    • Thanks Amy. Glad you enjoyed it. I wasn’t sure this was the right way to go, but it’s the only thing I came up with.

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 7:39 pm

  4. Internet-taught taxidermy–ewwwwwww!!! 🙂 But getting rid of vermin can’t be all bad. The neighborhood cats were probably ticked, though.

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    June 8, 2013 at 12:13 am

    • After reading your comment I went to look for some internet-taught taxidermy – it wasn’t a good idea. I switched off quickly after coming over all squeamish. There are a lot easier ways of getting rid of vermin.

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 7:47 pm

  5. Ewww! It took a well written piece for me to wrinkle my nose and shrink away. Glad I don’t live next to this guy, or gal? Muahahahaha.

    Swirling Turnip

    June 8, 2013 at 1:58 am

    • Thanks for that great comment. I think we’re all better off for not living next to this guy!

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 7:48 pm

  6. Very convincing voice. And it’s amazing the diverse reactions to this prompt.

    Sandra

    June 8, 2013 at 6:59 am

    • Thanks Sandra. Very happy to hear the voice was convincing. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 7:45 pm

  7. Gruesome! I’d like to see a picture of the results of this internet-learnt taxidermy! Or would I? Probably not 🙂
    brilliantly written as usual.

    elappleby

    June 8, 2013 at 11:57 am

    • I’m blushing now. Thanks for that lovely comment. I think the results of his taxidermy are quite good these days – his invisible stitching is perfect. Some of his design ideas leave a little to be desired though.

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 7:50 pm

  8. Methinks your narrator is a little too dedicated to his art… A nice compact horror story.

    newpillowbook

    June 8, 2013 at 5:35 pm

  9. A nice twist on all the flashes where people have created some cut and shut animal, at least yours solved a problem and offered a solution for the community. The stench from the shed…. great descriptions of horror.

    neenslewy

    June 9, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    • I think my character was enjoying himself too much to be driven by altruistic motives, but I’m glad you saw them.

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 7:58 pm

  10. Great little story and could be true. I don’t get the reference to the film. Missed that one.

    patrickprinsloo

    June 9, 2013 at 12:36 pm

  11. Dear Sarah,

    There are a few budding mad scientists making the rounds this week. Strange taxidermy going on here.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

    June 10, 2013 at 12:17 am

    • Definitely strange taxidermy trying to sew together all those differently-sized animals. My character likes a challenge.

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 8:03 pm

  12. Ergh! Glad I keep my kitties indoors these days – chilling, Sarah!

  13. It takes dedication and a gas-mask to do a thing like that. Kudos,

    • I hadn’t thought of the gas-mask, but I think you’re right.

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 8:06 pm

  14. I couldn’t go round chopping up humans, damnit but he said it like it’s the most normal thing. horrific and terrific 🙂

    kz

    June 10, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    • Thanks kz. I wanted him to sound casual about the whole thing so I’m glad he did. Thank you very much for ‘horrific and terrific’ 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      June 10, 2013 at 8:06 pm


Leave a Reply

