Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#VisDare 22 – Flight of Fancy – Imaginary Friends

with 6 comments

I wasn’t sure where to go with Angela Goff’s VisDare prompt this week.

 

 

The RULES:
150 words – or less.
Post entry to your blog and “link in” using the link tool,
or post your 150 words in the comments, on Angela’s site.
(Please – no erotica or graphic violence.)
–––––

 

 

Imaginary Friends (150 words)

When I was young, people smiled when I mentioned my imaginary friends. My parents humoured me when one of my intimates said I shouldn’t eat crusts because they were bad for my brain. For years Mum served mashed potatoes at every meal, because a buddy said anything else might cause me to fail my spelling test. And my teachers forgave us all when I told them it was my playmates who had encouraged me to go for the high branch that resulted in my broken arm.

Throughout my life my allies have talked to me, championed my cause, comforted and supported when required. They have never threatened or frightened, only encouraged when I hesitated or faltered.

Today I eat crusts and enjoy roast potatoes, but I have a disorder. Writers have their muse; presidents their gods; shamans their spirit guides. And I have shepherding voices that others demand be medicated.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

June 4, 2013 at 8:19 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It started so innocently Sarah, I pictured the child sitting with her imaginary friends and how they would tell her to get into mischieve. I loved the way you see-sawed that 1st line of your last para.I eat crusts and roast potatoes, but I have a disorder.. very well done.

    ramblingsfromamum

    June 5, 2013 at 12:45 am

    • Thanks, Jenny. I’m glad you like the see-sawing. I thought it necessary to show she no longer had food-fads but now had other issues to deal with (or not).

      Sarah Ann

      June 5, 2013 at 8:05 pm

  2. Good one, and so very true. Me, myself, and I agree… who wants to medicate the muse!

    buffalostarmedicine

    June 5, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    • Medicate away the muse and some of us will be lost, to ourselves if no one else.

      Sarah Ann

      June 5, 2013 at 8:06 pm

  3. Awesome! Keep listening to those voices!

    erickeys

    June 5, 2013 at 1:37 pm


Leave a Reply

