Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FiveSentenceFiction – Desolate

with 6 comments

Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week Lille Mcferrin posts a one word inspiration. Anyone wishing to participate writes a five sentence story based on the prompt. The word does not have to appear in the five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week: DESOLATE

 

desolate

 

The Birthday Party

They are all here for her: smiles ever present, eyes sparkling at the pleasure of the occasion. Music throbs through the floorboards; beer and wine flows; food is nibbled from between fingertips or gets dropped and trampled into the carpet. She tries not to frown as she pushes her way through the steaming, jumping throng, desperate for air.

On the terrace she revels in the chill as goose-bumps rise on her skin and sweat shrinks away. She wishes her friends and family could disappear as quickly, leaving her to mark this equivocal milestone alone.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

June 4, 2013 at 8:27 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The picture didn’t load – did you use the FSF city scape? I’m thinking that you found another one for this tale of desolation. I read it several times – I love birthdays… so I feel sorry for her that she would rather be alone, but it depends on the family of course – they seem to be partying without her or perhaps for themselves. Was this your intention? Interesting take on the challenge.

    neenslewy

    June 4, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    • Not sure what happened to the picture. It should be there now – I stuck with the FSF cityscape. I love birthdays too. I think this one was a big-0 my character wanted to hide away from – one of those where wrinkles and grey hairs become only too prominent. But her friends and family had other ideas.

      Sarah Ann

      June 5, 2013 at 8:09 pm

  2. and we ask what is the milestone…a birthday – a divorce – you have left me questioning- or does she merely want some solitude? ๐Ÿ™‚

    ramblingsfromamum

    June 5, 2013 at 12:16 am

    • A birthday – maybe 50 or 60 – one that doesn’t always result in joy as age begins to impinge. She didn’t want to acknowledge it, wanted to pretend it wasn’t really happening. Her family thought it important to make a fuss, hence her longing for isolation.

      Sarah Ann

      June 5, 2013 at 8:13 pm

  3. I can relate to this, as I’m not a fan of birthdays these days (long story). I prefer them to slip quietly off the calendar and for the most part, my friends and family oblige. This year is one of those milestone -0 birthdays and I’m hoping it will be ignored just the same ๐Ÿ™‚

    jannatwrites

    June 6, 2013 at 8:01 am

    • Happy n-0 birthday when it comes. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I used to love birthdays bit I’m a bit ambivalent these days. I had an 0 birthday last year – my friends had parties, I went out for lunch with family and even that was a bit OTT. Maybe I’m just getting old and miserable?

      Sarah Ann

      June 7, 2013 at 8:49 pm


Leave a Reply

