Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 31/5/13 – The Lost Dress

with 36 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry. Every Friday (or before) the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word stories.

Visit Rochelle’s site for how to join in and read the other stories by clicking on the blue guy.


 

Copyright - Janet Webb

Copyright – Janet Webb

 

The Lost Dress (100 words)

‘Pink isn’t really your colour.’

‘If you know something –‘  She advances towards me.

‘Of course not,’ I lie. ‘But you know I think you looked better in the red one.’

‘I’d clash with Mattie and Jo.’

‘You don’t have to clone each other all the time.’

‘We are not clones.’ Her eyes swell in indignation. ‘We’re sisters.’

I bite my tongue. ‘Pink is too pale for you. Try the purple. It’ll tone in.’

Her scowl slackens and I know I’ve won. I am a wicked mother. But is it so bad for me to want her to be an individual?

 

Written by Sarah Ann

May 31, 2013 at 8:12 pm

36 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah, Parents and Children… Such a complex dance of dysfunction and dismay. Good stuff!

    erickeys

    May 31, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    • If only it was more of a dance, or they liked the same tunes.

      Sarah Ann

      June 3, 2013 at 9:17 pm

      • Then it wouldn’t be so full of dysfunction and dismay. Not sure what kind of “dis” would be left at all…

        erickeys

        June 3, 2013 at 9:22 pm

      • How about a discussion of disco? Okay, I won’t continue this line of thinking.

        Sarah Ann

        June 4, 2013 at 8:57 pm

      • Disinformation? Disturbance?

        erickeys

        June 5, 2013 at 1:48 pm

  2. I really like this. Nice little insight to a mother-daughter relationship.

    MissTiffany

    May 31, 2013 at 8:22 pm

  3. I feel this child will rebel against her mother in her OWN quest of individualism.

    lingeringvisions

    May 31, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    • Hopefully. At the moment she just wants to be the same as her girlfriends.

      Sarah Ann

      June 3, 2013 at 9:17 pm

  4. I knew a mom who had twin girls and they were still dressing alike in high school (although I think that was their choice.) That seems a bit creepy to me, but what do I know? My brother and i didn’t dress alike (but we weren’t twins, either.) 🙂 Good for mom to encourage individuality.

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    May 31, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    • I get creeped by adult twins dressing the same way. On a tour holiday once I saw a newly married couple doing the same – matching shirts and shorts everyday for a week. That really was weird.

      Sarah Ann

      June 3, 2013 at 9:19 pm

  5. Individuality is a must. I think the child will thank the mother when she is older.

    JackieP

    June 1, 2013 at 1:09 am

    • I hope so. As young children we never thank our parents for their interference. Hopefully recognition of help and guidance comes with age.

      Sarah Ann

      June 3, 2013 at 9:55 pm

  6. Lovely! What a great take on the prompt.

    Sandra

    June 1, 2013 at 7:39 am

  7. Written with insight. Well done.

    petrujviljoen

    June 1, 2013 at 8:46 am

  8. The irony of individuality of a smothering mother’s “Be independent. Be what I tell you to be.”

    The Writers Village

    June 1, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    • You could see it that way. Or it might be that this particular mother just has an overwhelming aversion to pink.

      Sarah Ann

      June 3, 2013 at 9:57 pm

  9. Boys must be very different… 🙂

    • I’m sure they are. At least I can’t imagine them wanting to wear matching suits or cumerbands.

      Sarah Ann

      June 3, 2013 at 9:58 pm

  10. Great take on the story… and good for mom to encourage her to be different.

    Lily Mugford

    June 1, 2013 at 9:02 pm

  11. Dear Sarah,

    Good for this mom. I raised three sons and am fond of saying I had one of each. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear Rochelle,
      Does each of your sons know which he is, or which you thought he was?

      Sarah Ann

      June 3, 2013 at 10:01 pm

  12. A great flash with a sprinkling of fairy tale.

    neenslewy

    June 1, 2013 at 10:18 pm

  13. Nice view of the meddling mother from the mother’s perspective. She has her reasons. 🙂

    David Stewart

    June 3, 2013 at 11:13 am

    • I’m not sure I could have it from the daughter’s perspective – not this story anyway. Now you’ve got me thinking….

      Sarah Ann

      June 3, 2013 at 10:03 pm

      • I liked the way you did it. It’s more common to see things like this from the daughter’s point of view.

        David Stewart

        June 4, 2013 at 12:32 am

  14. Good for mum encouraging her individuality. A good story
    Dee

    40again

    June 3, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    • Thank you. I’m glad you saw it as encouraging rather than meddling.

      Sarah Ann

      June 3, 2013 at 10:01 pm

  15. One of your comments brought to mind Montgomery Ward and JC Penny catalogs from the 70s were couple wore matching outfits (double-knit plaid). I think individuality is the right path. A wise mother 🙂

    rgayer55

    June 3, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    • And your comment reminds me of knitting patterns and the male/ female versions of the same pattern. It doesn’t seem so strange in patterns and catalogues as it does in real life. Individuality is defintiely the right path.

      Sarah Ann

      June 4, 2013 at 7:53 pm

  16. This makes me think of my daughter and her friends talking about what they will wear when they all are at the same event.

    Joe Owens

    June 4, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    • Presumably that’s to make sure they don’t end up at an event wearing similar outfits or clashing colours? Oh to go places to have to worry about what to wear. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      June 4, 2013 at 7:51 pm


Leave a Reply

