Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

IT induced rant – feel free to ignore

with 5 comments

 

My 4¾-year-old MacBook occasionally throws a strop. When I have 20 tabs open in Firefox she goes slooooooooooooowly. And she’s not too good at waking up from sleep either. Before I learnt to readjust to her middle-aged way of thinking, I was getting a little frustrated, and hubby was getting a little annoyed with my wailing as Mactilda and I almost flew to opposite sides of the room.

My solution: open fewer windows at a time; restart Firefox regularly; treat her gently.

His solution: retire her as a word processor; buy a Samsung Netbook like his (it never plays up) for going online

His netbook is so old we had to go for something newer. It has more RAM and a bigger processor so should work even better. Wrong. It moves more slowly than Mactilda and freezes constantly, whether connected to the internet or not. After all of a week even hubby is throwing in the towel.

It (the new black box of impenetrability) won’t work with Firefox – it refuses to let me ‘Like’ blog posts and opens an empty window instead. It will not allow me to make comments. I was already behind with my writing challenges and blog reading because of work commitments, before technology intervened and stopped me completely. For those who might have missed me reading and trying to comment this week, I apologise. Mactilda and I are reunited, online together again, and trying to catch up.

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

May 25, 2013 at 1:54 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Consistent maintenance is necessary for a computer to work in a long run. Try to keep lesser hidden running applications during boot up to lessen the RAM’s burden. It helps in the long run. You can use ccleaner for this and also once you have surfed the internet. Hope this helps

    Yoshiko

    May 25, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    • Thanks for the tips. Referring to the new black box, ccleaner is installed and has been run regularly as well as registry cleaner. I think we just received a duff model.

      Sarah Ann

      May 25, 2013 at 5:04 pm

  2. I am also an Apple Gal 🙂 I didn’t ignore 🙂 Good rant.

    ramblingsfromamum

    May 25, 2013 at 2:54 pm


Leave a Reply

