Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Beta-reader feedback #2

with one comment

(Click for part 1.)

My mother has spoken. Reading chapters 1-5 she thought, ‘What is this about? Why am I bothering?’ She persevered and from chapter 6 onwards she said it raced along. Then she asked if I’d been on a writing course (no) and if I’d written to a formula (I wish).

Male – 49 – has finished (which he doesn’t normally do with a book) and reported that the dialogue was good, although there was too much at times.

F – 45 – (who ended up in floods of tears) went through the document and highlighted words/ phrases she didn’t understand and talked me through them so I am able to change/ adapt in the next edit.

And I’ve picked up another reader – F – late-40s. Via email she wrote that she’s a sensitive soul and was crying by page 8. Her step-mum is a published writer and I have been given her email address and permission to get in touch.

I really have to stop procrastinating now, write a synopsis (help) and get on with that agent’s letter before I work in everyone’s useful comments. (Yes, I am being selective.)

Dear. Mrs Smith…..

Written by Sarah Ann

May 20, 2013 at 8:18 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Agreed, get it out there, you’ll get some feedback that way too! It’s like trying on your first bathing suit of the year, the first one is the worst, the 10th one starts to look awesome….!

    karmicangel

    May 20, 2013 at 10:35 pm


Leave a Reply

