Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 17/5/13 – The Anniversary

with 45 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry. Every Friday (or before) the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word stories.

Visit Rochelle’s site for how to join in and read the other stories by clicking on the blue guy.


–––––

Rochelle has kindly chosen one of my photos for this week’s prompt. If you’d like to know more about where/ what this is, click here.

 

To fufil the wishes of some of those who commented on my story last week, this one provides a happy ending.
Aqueduct -Sarah Ann Hall

 

The Anniversary (100 words)

‘That’s us,’ Bob said, ‘two old sentinels in the wilderness. Do you remember our first date?’

‘If you’d come out with poetic nonsense that night I’d’ve decked you.’

‘Still one for plain talking.’

‘Still one for cautious optimism.’

‘Pity the kids didn’t come. There’ll be no-one to look after you when you’re old.’

‘People shouldn’t have kids to act as their carers. What if I hadn’t liked my own?’

‘You’re all heart.’

‘I’m a realist. You’ll have to keep fit and stay with me.’ Dora passed him a scythe. ‘Get cutting those nettles. I’ll pick up after you. As usual.’

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

May 17, 2013 at 9:26 am

45 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Sarah,
    Smooth dialogue. I like Dora. She speaks her mind. Thanks for the picture and the article. As you can see the picture sparked imaginations this week.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    May 17, 2013 at 9:58 am

    • Thanks Rochelle for using my photo. I noticed that it prompted quite a few burials and romances, doomed or otherwise. And I like Dora too. She doesn’t suffer fools.

      Sarah Ann

      May 20, 2013 at 7:18 pm

  2. At this point in my curmudgeonly life, I much prefer plain talk to flowery flim-flam.

    The Real Cie

    May 17, 2013 at 11:03 am

  3. Ah, sweet. Very authentic dialogue which showed these too personalities perfectly. Nice job.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/sex-drugs-and-rock-and-roll/

    unspywriter

    May 17, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    • I’m very happy the dialogue worked. I wasn’t sure their shorthand might not be too short for readers.

      Sarah Ann

      May 20, 2013 at 7:28 pm

  4. No sentiment but lots of romance. “… As usual.” Love it!

    patrickprinsloo

    May 17, 2013 at 2:06 pm

  5. Yes, this story has a happy–and amusing–ending!

    Thanks so much for the photo prompt! It has inspired a lot of different interpretations. I also appreciate the reference material, and being able to see the aqueduct from other angles. I appreciate that you waited to post it…so that our many interpretations weren’t constrained by reality!

    Jan Brown

    May 17, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    • Hi Jan,
      Many thanks for the comment. I’m glad you appreciated the reference material. There was no fear of it going up earlier. I can never get my brain into gear before Friday. Really enjoyed your story too.

      Sarah Ann

      May 20, 2013 at 8:02 pm

  6. Sarah, I enjoy the matter-of-fact love behind the conversation in your story. I liked the photo, too, as you can tell from my love-interrupted-story. 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend,

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    May 17, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    • Thanks for the lovely comment Janet. Glad you liked the photo and I love your story.

      Sarah Ann

      May 20, 2013 at 7:31 pm

  7. Oh this comes very close to home … glad they keep together… and are not afraid of the scythe. Thanks for the picture.

    • Afraid of the scythe? Do you mean of the hard work or using it on each other? Thanks for the comment Björn.

      Sarah Ann

      May 20, 2013 at 8:03 pm

  8. Like!

    lingeringvisions

    May 17, 2013 at 9:22 pm

  9. Sounds like she plans on keeping him around a while longer. Enjoyed the playful banter between the couple.

    rgayer55

    May 17, 2013 at 9:46 pm

  10. That is an interesting photo, I will be checking the link. I love your story by the way, great dialogue with no “he said/she said” well done.

    Lily Mugford

    May 18, 2013 at 12:29 am

  11. Realistic dialogue between married folk who are friends. Well done and great photo for the prompt. Many interesting tales being told this week.

    vb holmes

    May 18, 2013 at 1:02 am

    • I like ‘..married folk who are friends.’ If only more couples could stay that way.Thanks for your lovely comment.

      Sarah Ann

      May 20, 2013 at 7:58 pm

  12. Great dialogue, Sarah. You captured so much, past, future, attitude of kids, and their playfulness. Amazing. I love the photo you provided this week!

    The Bumble Files

    May 18, 2013 at 6:27 am

    • Wow, Amy. Thanks for that. I hadn’t realised I’d captured so much. Your comment has me smiling.

      Sarah Ann

      May 20, 2013 at 8:04 pm

  13. ‘I’ll pick up after you. As always.’ – lovely!
    A truly heart-warming story. Fabulous stuff 🙂

    elappleby

    May 18, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    • Thanks EL. Heart-warming is good. I think Bob’s knocked some of Dora’s sharp edges off over the years.

      Sarah Ann

      May 20, 2013 at 7:59 pm

  14. Good old Dora… thanks for the photo Sarah Ann!

    tedstrutz

    May 18, 2013 at 4:27 pm

  15. Thanks for the photo…I’m going to have to try and find your last piece to figure out where this one came from. 🙂
    Just hopping in I wonder why the one set of ‘children’ were dispatched…

    julespaige

    May 20, 2013 at 3:50 pm

  16. Thanks for the links…I’m hoping that when my hubby and I get a bit older – we’ll be able to afford to pay someone to take care of the yard work 😉
    We grew our lawnmowers…and they moved out. They might just take care of us, but we aren’t counting on it. 🙂

    julespaige

    May 20, 2013 at 9:45 pm

  17. Nice dialogue. I can picture the two of them arguing back and forth. Great picture too.

    David Stewart

    May 21, 2013 at 1:28 am

    • Surely they’re not arguing – it’s just a slightly heated discussion. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      May 28, 2013 at 1:34 pm

  18. no poetic nonsense…but there’s a lot of love here 🙂 the dialogue’s very believable too ^^ great story. and thank you for the photo 🙂

    kz

    May 21, 2013 at 2:34 am

    • Thanks for the lovely comment – apologies for replying so late!

      Sarah Ann

      May 28, 2013 at 1:33 pm

  19. I love this couple. They do sarcasm so well! You really struck just the right note. Thanks for the picture too. It was great inspiration.

    Mystikel

    May 21, 2013 at 2:35 am

    • Thank you – sarcasm can be good, in the right places and relationships.

      Sarah Ann

      May 28, 2013 at 1:32 pm

  20. What a couple of great characters! You feel like you’re eavesdropping on real, interesting people here. 🙂 And thanks for the wonderful photo prompt!

    Trudy K Taylor

    May 21, 2013 at 10:23 am

  21. ‘…two old sentinels in the wilderness…’ – brilliant! I think your characters must be related to mine. If not, they should get together; they’d get on like nettles on fire!

    annisik51

    May 21, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    • The sentinels idea was the first thing that came to me when I saw the photo. Not knowing which of my photos Rochelle might post, I had nothing prepared. And yes, I think our characters would make a wonderful foursome, and I pity anyone else who might join the party

      Sarah Ann

      May 23, 2013 at 8:48 pm

  22. Very touching. What a great take on this picture.

    Shirley McCann

    May 22, 2013 at 1:52 am

  23. I’m always a fan of real dialogue – superb timing and lexicon, and nice tension with flirting. Enjoyed very much!

    pirate

    May 22, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    • Thanks for that gorgeous comment! You always make me look at my writing afresh.

      Sarah Ann

      May 23, 2013 at 8:33 pm


Leave a Reply

