Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Two for Tuesday Challenge #7 – Useless Idiot

with 9 comments

This week at Andy Black’s Two for Tuesday Challenge had the prompts:

 

Standard prompt:
awkward silence

Non-Standard Prompt:
This week for the alternative prompt, write a story from the first person point of view (i.e. I did this, I saw that) featuring a protagonist who is the opposite of your own gender. In other words if you are male, write from a female’s point of view and vice versa. As per usual with the Non-Standard prompt there is no word limit but there is a minimum of 200 words.

–––––

 

 

Useless Idiot (203 words)

I need my head examining. I’m sitting looking at the most beautiful woman I’ve ever dated from the other side of the bar.

I should have introduced myself when she arrived. With all these mirrors, I won’t be able to surreptitiously nip out front. She’ll know I’ve been watching her and think I’m a stalker.

Why am I sitting here like a lemon? She’s gorgeous. I mean really hot. Why have I got cold feet of lead?

This place isn’t very salubrious. Why on earth did Danny recommend it?

Stop changing the subject. Pull yourself together. Go over. Before someone else hits on her.

Is this because she dithered? When I asked her out, she hesitated. There was that awkward silence when I thought she was going to say no. But she didn’t, she smiled and said yes. She’s sitting there waiting for me and I’m hiding behind a pillar.

I am a wimp. She is so assured. Look at those legs that could crack a man’s neck, hands that could squeeze the life out of me. What am I scared of? Making a fool of myself? Missing out on the best night of my life?

This is so stupid. I’m going over.

 

 

There is a companion piece to this (from the woman’s POV) as my Friday Fictioneers submission.

Written by Sarah Ann

May 10, 2013 at 8:44 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] is a companion piece (from her date’s POV) written for the Two for Tuesday […]

  2. All right what is he scared of – besides “legs that could crack a man’s neck, hands that could squeeze the life out of” him? Sounds pretty dangerous – I wonder if he’s seeing her accurately, or if he’s really, really terrified of women.

    newpillowbook

    May 10, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    • I think he’s out of condition on the dating front and not seeing her true self. He needs to get a bit closer and speak to her.

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:21 pm

  3. For some reason I just really, really want it to work out between these two. They sound like they could both use somebody.

    misskzebra

    May 11, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    • Thanks for that comment. I hadn’t seen them as needy, but maybe you’re on to something. I’ll have to see if they’re still talking to me (and each other) later in the week.

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:22 pm

  4. You’ve done a good job of capturing the insecure male who feels he is not deserving of this gorgeous creature with formidable hands and legs. That feeling of being out of her league plagues many guys. Great job once again of combining both prompts!

    ahblack57

    May 12, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    • Formidable hands and legs? I was going for long in both cases. Hubby came up with the squeezing life idea so not sure what his past dating experiences were like. Thanks for hosting as I’m having lots of fun with these.

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:23 pm

  5. Neat that you wrote from both points of view. All those nervous questions and re-thinking things over. You really captured the anxiety before a first date.

    zookyworld

    May 15, 2013 at 11:00 am

    • That’s good to know, thank you. It’s a long time since I’ve been on a date, so it took a bit of imagining.

      Sarah Ann

      May 15, 2013 at 8:06 pm


Leave a Reply

